University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Emeritus Faculty

David J. Banks
Professor Emeritus
dbanks@buffalo.edu
Research Interests: Social anthropology, kinship, culture, historical methods, contemporary social change; Southeast Asia, Malaya.

Warren Barbour
Associate Professor Emeritus
barbour@buffalo.edu
Research Interests: Prehistory, comparative early civilizations, historical archaeology; Mesoamerica

Carol Berman
Professor Emeritus
cberman@buffalo.edu
Research Interests: Primate social behavior, parent-offspring relationships, animal behavior, evolution of behavior, kinship, conflict management, ethological methods.
Current Research Projects: Parent-offspring Relationships and Social Development: Free-ranging rhesus monkeys on Cayo Santiago, Puerto Rico; Conflict Management, Kinship and Social Structure: Tibetan Macaques at Mt. Huangshan, China;
The Impact of Tourism on Primate Behavior and Conservation.

Robert K. Dentan
Professor Emeritus
rkdentan@buffalo.edu
Research Interests: Cultural anthropology, social organization, ecology, (non)violence; Southeast Asia.

Charles O. Frake
Professor Emeritus
Samuel P. Capen Chair of Anthropology
frake@buffalo.edu
Research Interests: Linguistic anthropology, cognitive anthropology; political and historical anthropology, Southeast Asia, the Pacific, Europe.

Ann P. McElroy
Associate Professor Emeritus
mcelroy@buffalo.edu
Research Interests: Applied medical anthropology; Disability studies; Culture and reproduction; Political and health change in arctic populations; Health care delivery to underserved populations in urban/rural U.S.

Stuart Scott
Associate Professor Emeritus
sscott@buffalo.edu
Research Interests: Archaeology, dendrochronology, environmental studies, historical archaeology; Mesoamerica, Polynesia.

A. T. Steegmann Jr.
Professor Emeritus
atsjr@buffalo.edu
Research Interests: Adaptive human biology, physical anthropology; Subarctic, China, Canada.

Barbara Tedlock
Professor Emeritus
tedlockb@buffalo.edu 
Research Interests: Psychological and cognitive anthropology; anthropology of art and aesthetics; ethnomedicine; shamanism; American Southwest and Mesoamerica.