University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Faculty Mentors

Research Mentors

Photo of Dr. Gokcumen

Omer Gokcumen, PhD

Assistant Professor

Biological Sciences

109 Cooke Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2363

Email: omergokc@buffalo.edu

Image of Dr. Colon

Luis Colón, PhD

A. Conger Good Year Chair Professor; Associate Dean for Graduate and Postdoctoral Education

Chemistry

359 Natural Sciences Complex

Phone: (716) 645-6800

Email: lacolon@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Detty

Michael Detty, PhD

Professor and Chair

Chemistry

359 Natural Sciences Complex

Phone: (716) 645-6800

Email: mdetty@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Diver

Steven Diver, PhD

Professor and Associate Chair

Chemistry

359 Natural Sciences Complex

Phone: (716) 645-68000

Email: diver@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Gong

Bing Gong, PhD

Professor

Chemistry

359 Natural Sciences Complex

Phone: (716) 645-6800

Email: bgong@buffalo.edu

Image of Dr. Velarde

Luis Velarde, PhD

Assistant Professor

Chemistry

359 Natural Sciences Complex

Phone: (716) 645-6800

Email: lvelarde@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Surtees

Jennifer Surtees, PhD

Associate Professor

Biochemistry

140 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2727

Email: jsurtees@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Sutton

Mark Sutton, PhD

Professor

Biochemistry

140 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2727

Email: mdsutton@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Park

Yungki Park, PhD

Assistant Professor

Biochemsitry

140 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2727

Email: yungkipa@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Panepinto

John Panepinto, PhD

Associate Professor

Microbiology and Immunology

138 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2907

Email: jcp25@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Romano

Rose-Anne Romano, PhD

Assistant Professor

Oral Biology

115 Foster Hall

Phone: (716) 829-3942

Email: rromano2@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Arin Bhattacharjee

Arin Bhattacharjee, PhD

Associate Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology

102 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2800

Email: ab68@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Dietz

David Dietz, PhD

Assistant Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology

102 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2800

Email: ddietz@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Dubocovich

Margarita Dubocovich, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor and Chair; Senior Associate Dean for Inclusion and Cultural Enhancement

Pharmacology and Toxicology

102 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2800

Email: mdubo@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Li

Jun-Xu Li, MD PhD

Assistant Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology

102 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2800

Email: junxuli@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Paez

Pablo Paez, PhD

Assistant Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology

102 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2800

Email: ppaez@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Rajnarayanan

Rajendram Rajnarayanan, PhD

Assistant Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology

102 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2800

Email: rajendra@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Sim

Fraser Sim, PhD

Assistant Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology

102 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2800

Email: fjsim@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Ellis

Leigh Ellis, PhD

Assistant Professor

Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Phone: (716) 845-5759

Email: leigh.ellis@roswellpark.org

Photo of Dr. Huss

Wendy Huss, PhD

Professor

Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Phone: (716) 845-5759

Email: wendy.huss@RoswellPark.org

Academic Mentors

Photo of Dr. Diver

Steven Diver, PhD

Professor and Associate Chair

Chemistry

359 Natural Sciences Complex

Phone: (716) 645-68000

Email: diver@buffalo.edu

Photo Dr. Rzayev

Javid Rzayev, PhD

Associate Professor

Chemistry

359 Natural Sciences Complex

Phone: (716) 645-6800

Email: jrzayev@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Watson

David Watson, PhD

Professor

Chemistry

359 Natural Sciences Complex

Phone: (716) 645-6800

Email: dwatson3@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Read

Laurie Read, PhD

Professor

Microbiology and Immunology

138 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2907

Email: lread@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Fliesler

Steven Fliesler, PhD

UB Distinguished Professor; Meyer H. Riwchun Endowed Chair ; Professor; Vice-Chairmain and Director of Research

Opthalmology

3459 Bailey Ave

Phone: (716) 862-6538

Email: fliesler@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Arin Bhattacharjee

Arin Bhattacharjee, PhD

Associate Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology

102 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2800

Email: ab68@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Dietz

David Dietz, PhD

Assistant Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology

102 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2800

Email: ddietz@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Halvorsen

Stanley Halvorsen, PhD

Associate Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology

102 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2800

Email: stanh@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Rabin

Richard Rabin, PhD

Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology

102 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2800

Email: rarabin@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Sim

Fraser Sim, PhD

Assistant Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology

102 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2800

Email: fjsim@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Singh

Satpal Singh, PhD

Associate Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology

102 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2800

Email: singhs@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Goodrich

David Goodrich, PhD

Professor

Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Phone: (716) 845-5759

Email: david.goodrich@roswellpark.org

Photo of Dr. Hershberger

Pamela Hershberger, PhD

Associate Professor

Pharmacology and Therpeutics

Phone: (716) 845-5759

Email: pamela.hershberger@roswellpark.org

Potential Mentors

Image of Dr. Cullen

Paul Cullen, PhD

Associate Professor

Biological Sciences

109 Cooke Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2363

Email: pjcullen@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Ferkey

Denise Ferkey, PhD

Associate Professor

Biological Sciences

109 Cooke Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2363

Email: dmferkey@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Andreadis

Stelios Andreadis, PhD

Professor and Department Chair

Chemical and Biological Engineering

303 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1174

Email: sandread@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Neelamegham

Sriram Neelamegham, PhD

Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

303 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1174

Email: neel@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Zhang

Aidong Zhang, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor and Chair

Computer Science and Engineering

338 Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3180

Email: azhang@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Feltri

Laura Feltri, MD

Professor

Biochemistry

140 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2727

Email: mlfeltri@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Gronostajski

Richard Gronostajski, PhD

Professor, Director of the Genetics, Genomics & Bioinformatics Graduate Program; Director, Western New York Stem Cell Culture and Analysis Center (WNYSTEM)

Biochemistry

140 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2727

Email: rgron@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Halfon

Marc Halfon, PhD

Associate Professor

Biochemistry

140 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2727

Email: mshalfon@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Popescu

Gabriela Popescu, PhD

Professor

Biochemistry

140 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2727

Email: popescu@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Lackner

Jeffery Lackner, PsyD

Professor

Medicine

Erie County Medical Center, David K. Miller Building

Phone: (716) 898-4328

Email: lackner@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Murphy

Timothy Murphy, MD

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Senior Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Research

Medicine

Buffalo Clinical and Translational Research Center

Phone: (716) 888-4850

Email: murphyt@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Edgerton

Mira Edgerton, PhD

Research Professor

Oral Biology

115 Foster Hall

Phone: (716) 829-3942

Email: edgerto@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Sullivan

Jack Sullivan, MD PhD

Associate Professor

Ophthalmology

VA Western New York Healthcare System

Phone: (716) 834-9200

Email: js354@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Ren

Xeufeng Ren, PhD

Assistant Professor; Director of MPH Concentration in Environmental Health

Epidemiology and Environmental Health

270 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2975

Email: xuefengr@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Wactawski-Wende

Jean Wactawski-Wende, PhD

Dean, School of Public Health and Health Professions; Professor

Epidemiology and Environmental Health

270 Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2975

Email: jww@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Morse

Gene Morse, PharmD

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Pharmacy Practice

285 Kapoor Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2825

Email: emorse@buffalo.edu

Photo of Kapoor Hall

Javier Blanco, Clin. Biochem. PhD

Associate Professor

Pharmaceutical Sciences

445 Kapoor Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2825

Email: jgblanco@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Morris

Marilyn Morris, PhD

UB Distinguished Professor

Pharmaceutical Sciences

445 Kapoor Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2825

Email: memorris@buffalo.edu

Photo of Dr. Lee

Kelvin Lee, MD

Professor and Chair

Immunology

Phone: (716) 845-5759

Email: kelvin.lee@roswellpark.org