ESC to begin inaugural season

Published September 17, 2020

The 12 members of the Esports Collegiate Conference (ESC), which includes UB and other Mid-American Conference institutions, will compete in the inaugural Rocket League regular season from Oct. 8 through Nov. 19.

Each match in the seven-week season of esports — basically competitive video gaming — will feature a best-of-five series, with two matches taking place each Thursday during the season. Following the regular season, the teams will compete in a two-day playoff to determine an ESC Rocket League Champion.

In 2019, the University of Akron brought home a national title in Rocket League. The Zips defeated Central Florida in the championship match, 4-2, held at the NCAA Final Four Fan Fest at the Minneapolis Convention Center.

The ESC also announced a partnership with amateur esports operations company PlayVS to be the official platform provider and help facilitate the Rocket League season. The PlayVS platform powers high school and college esports leagues around the country, handling matchmaking, scheduling, logistics, statistics and more for numerous institutions.

A full ESC Rocket League schedule will be announced later this month. For more information and updates, visit and the conference’s social media platforms, including Twitter, Instagram, Twitch and Facebook.