Faculty, professional staff elect new officers

Published June 20, 2019

Faculty and professional staff members have elected new officers for their respective governance bodies for 2019-21.

Timothy Tryjankowski, who recently was named director of research and co-curricular activities for the Honors College after serving for many years as director of the Center for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities, was elected chair of the Professional Staff Senate.

Robert S. Miletich, professor and interim chair of the Department of Nuclear Medicine in the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at UB, was elected chair of the Faculty Senate.

Tryjankowski and Miletich succeed Domenic Licata and Philip Glick, respectively, both of whom served the maximum two consecutive terms as chair.

Their appointments are effective July 1.

In the recent election, professional staff members also elected Don Erb, senior sustainability associate in the Office of Student Life, as vice chair and Hugh Jarvis, cybrarian in the Office of University Communications, as secretary. Their terms also are for two years.

Faculty members also elected Jessy Alexander, research professor on the Department of Medicine in the Jacobs School, to a two-year term as secretary.

Law student Destiny Johnson has been appointed parliamentarian of the Faculty Senate.