Media Advisory: UB Alumni Association to present Achievement Awards Friday

By Grace Gerass

Release Date: October 12, 2018 This content is archived.

Stephen Still.

Stephen Still

BUFFALO, N.Y. – The University at Buffalo Alumni Association (UBAA) will honor alumni and friends who have brought distinction to the university at the 2018 UBAA Achievement Awards program to be held at 6 p.m. Friday, Oct. 12, in the Center for the Arts on the North Campus.

UB President Satish K. Tripathi, along with Rodney M. Grabowski, vice president for philanthropy and alumni engagement, and Michael Anderson (EMBA '17, BA '97), president of the alumni association's board of directors, will present the awards.

Honorees will include Stephen Still (BS '76), managing director and co-founder of Seabury Consulting, now part of Accenture, who will accept the association’s highest honor, the Samuel P. Capen Award. Still recently created an endowment at UB to support UB's Institute for Sustainable Transportation and Logistics (ISTL).

A Distinguished Alumni Award will be presented to Robert Noonan (BA '71), known today as Willie Nile. Nile has released 12 critically acclaimed studio albums, toured across the U.S. with The Who and performed with Bruce Springsteen, Ringo Starr, Lucinda Williams and Richard Thompson.

Other honorees attending the ceremony are:

  • Gale Burstein (MD '90), health commissioner for the Erie County Department of Health, who will receive the Community Leadership Award.
  • Milton Ezrati (BA '69), chief economist at Vested, Karen Maricle (MS '88, BS '72), president of Maricle Health Advisors LLC, and Robert Davies (PhD ’05), president of Central Michigan University, who will receive Distinguished Alumni Awards.
  • Mark Schulz (PhD '93, MS '84), professor of mechanical and materials engineering at the University of Cincinnati, who will receive the Clifford C. Furnas Memorial Award.
  • Charles Severin (MD '97), associate dean for medical education and associate professor of anatomy in the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, who will receive the Richard T. Sarkin Award for Excellence in Teaching.
  • Joseph Hanna (JD '05, BA '02), commercial litigator and legal adviser at Goldberg Segalla, who will receive the George W. Thorn Award, given to distinguished alumni under 40.
  • Terese Kelly (MLS '73, BA '68), librarian for the Rochester Public Library, who will receive the Philip B. Wels Outstanding Service Award.

Press arrangements: Ann Brown, onsite, at 716-491-1803.



Media Contact Information

Media Relations (University Communications)
330 Crofts Hall (North Campus)
Buffalo, NY 14260-7015
Tel: 716-645-6969