University at Buffalo Alumni Association elects first out-of-town president

Carol Gloff, BS ’75, of Natick, Mass., will serve a two-year term

By Barbara Byers

Release Date: June 28, 2013 This content is archived.

Carol Gloff.

Carol Gloff

“I hope my viewpoint will help us put a new lens on the work we do on behalf of the more than 230,000 UB grads around the world. ”
Carol Gloff, president, UB Alumni Association

BUFFALO, N.Y. – Carol Gloff of Natick, Mass., has been elected to serve a two-year term as president of the University at Buffalo Alumni Association (UBAA), a group that represents the interests of more than 230,000 graduates around the world.

A native of Western New York, Gloff earned her bachelor of science degree in pharmacy in 1975, and a PhD in pharmaceutical chemistry from the University of California at San Francisco in 1984. She is founder and principal of Carol Gloff & Associates, a consulting firm that assists the medical products industry in the areas of regulatory affairs, quality assurance and compliance, and drug and biologic product development. 

In addition, she chairs the Natick, Mass., Board of Selectmen, the executive branch of government; serves on the board of directors of the American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education and is chair of the AFPE’s board of grants for that organization.

Gloff joined the UBAA Board of Directors in 2007 and was instrumental in helping to bring back a scholarship for female students. She has also chaired numerous board committees and served as vice president for two years.

As the association’s first president residing outside Western New York, Gloff will “bring a new perspective to the board and the needs of our alumni,” she said. “I hope my viewpoint will help us put a new lens on the work we do on behalf of the more than 230,000 UB grads around the world.”

Other officers elected for the 2013-14 term are: Mary Garlick Roll, MS ’88 & BS ’84, of Williamsville, N.Y., first vice president and co-chair, membership committee; Timothy P. Lafferty BS ’86, of East Aurora, N.Y., immediate past president; Kenneth M. Jones, MA ’84, of Perry Hall, Md., vice president for finance and chair, finance committee; Peter J. Grogan, BS ’81, of East Aurora, N.Y., chair, audit committee; Ruth Kleinman, BA ’05, of New York, N.Y., chair, chapters committee; James M. Militello, BA ’79, of Gainesville, Va., chapter leader representative; Wayne M. Nelligan, Attended, of Cheektowaga, N.Y., co-chair, membership committee; Paul R. Hammer, BA ’78, of Williamsville, N.Y., chair, programs and events committee; Michael A. Anderson, BS ’97, of Hamburg, N.Y., chair, student relations committee.

At-large members elected are Rita M. Andolina, MSW ’88 & BA ’80, of West Seneca, N.Y.; Carrie L. Boye, BFA ’97, of Amherst, N.Y.; Willie R. Evans, EdB ’60, of Buffalo, N.Y., special advisor; Mark W. Nusbaum, MArch ’85 & BPS ’83, of New York, N.Y.; Thomas A. Palmer, JD ’75 & MBA ’71, of East Amherst, N.Y.; Jennifer Piccone, MBA ’99 & BS ’95, of Webster, N.Y.; Ezra J. Staley, JD ’09 & MBA ’09, of Grand Island, N.Y.; David J. Stinner, BA ’98, of Kenmore, N.Y.; John Warren IV, BA ’01, of Ashburn, Va.; and Ann Wegrzyn, MBA ’90 & BS ’85, of Orchard Park, N.Y.

Reelected members of the board are Randy J. Asher, BS ’95, of Staten Island, N.Y.; Tyler A. Balentine, MUP ’06 & BA ’03, of Buffalo, N.Y.; Ronald Balter, BA ’80, of Brooklyn, N.Y.; Jason L. Bird, BA ’05, of Tonawanda, N.Y.; Robert W. Chapman, MSW ’03 & BA ’91, of Buffalo, N.Y.; Kimberly S. Conidi, JD ’05 & BA ’99, of West Seneca, N.Y.; Edward J. Graber Jr., MBA ’93 & JD ’92, of Orchard Park, N.Y.; Mary Anne Heiser, BS ’77, of Tonawanda, N.Y.; Gary J. Jastrzab, BA ’76 & BA ’76, of Philadelphia, Pa.; Lisa M. Kirisits, MBA ’87 & BS ’85, of Lancaster, N.Y.; Matthew E. La Sota, BA ’04, of Buffalo; Ken Lam, EdM ’04 & BA ’01, of Somerset, N.J.; Christian Lovelace, JD ’06, of Buffalo; Donna M. Manion, BA ’94, of New York, N.Y.; Patrick J.S. Mathews, BS ’03 of Williamsville, N.Y.; David T. Merrell, MBA ’96 & BS ’91 of Lancaster, N.Y.; Peter A. Petrella Jr., BA ’00, of Lancaster, N.Y.; Jennifer L. Shalik, BA ’07 of Buffalo, N.Y.; Mark J. Stramaglia, MBA ’86 & BS ’81, of Williamsville, N.Y.; Kristin Vento, MBA ’00 of Orchard Park, N.Y.; John Warren BA ’01, of Ashburn, Va.; and Sylvia Williams Ferguson, BA ’98, of Buffalo, N.Y.

Newly elected members of the board are Hon. Mark G. Farrell, JD ’72 & BA ’69 of Amherst, N.Y.; Jeffery D. Hazel, PMCert ’09, PMCert ’09, EdM ’09, EdM ’03 & BA ’99 of Amherst, N.Y.; S. Navpreet Jatana, BS ’03 of Amherst, N.Y.; Michael J. Kennuth, BA ’93 of Williamsville, N.Y.; Timothy F. Murphy, MBA ’96 & BA ’94 of Williamsville, N.Y.; Gene E. Verel, BS ’73 of Buffalo; and Richard J. Lynch, DDS ’83 & BA ’79 of Williamsville, N.Y.

The UB Alumni Association is a volunteer-led international organization that provides ongoing service to alumni and a focus of alumni support for, and service to, UB, its students, faculty and staff. For more information, visit

Media Contact Information

Media Relations (University Communications)
330 Crofts Hall (North Campus)
Buffalo, NY 14260-7015
Tel: 716-645-6969