Twenty-six outstanding high school students have won full, four-year Presidential Scholarships to attend UB

Release Date: May 22, 2013 This content is archived.

UB's Presidential Scholarship is awarded to incoming freshmen who demonstrate outstanding academic performance and are within the top 1 percent of graduating high school seniors.

BUFFALO, N.Y. – The University at Buffalo has awarded Presidential Scholarships, a prestigious distinction reserved for the top students of each new freshman class, to 26 students, who will be UB freshmen this fall. The scholarship covers full tuition, fees, housing, board and books for four years of undergraduate study.

A complete list of the UB Presidential Scholars, including their hometowns and high schools, is below. Photos, where available, are here:

The Presidential Scholarship is awarded through UB’s University Honors College to incoming freshmen who have outstanding academic performance and are within the top 1 percent of graduating high school seniors.

UB students who receive Presidential Scholarships are automatically admitted to the University Honors College and must maintain good standing within the program to keep their scholarships. The University Honors College cultivates a small college setting that offers access to all the resources of a large research university. It provides an innovative curriculum and unique opportunities outside the classroom for academically gifted students.  

To be considered for the UB Presidential Scholarship, students complete a separate application which includes three essays, three letters of recommendation and a resume.  Top applicants are invited to campus for interviews to meet with current students, faculty and staff; approximately 25 of these students each year are awarded UB Presidential Scholarships. 

More information on scholarships at UB is at

The UB Presidential Scholars for 2013 are:

  • Ellen Elizabeth Lutnick of Grand Island, Grand Island Senior High School
  • Eileen Rose Bennett of Clarence Center, Clarence High School
  • Barrett Thomas Kemp of Shinglehouse, Pennsylvania, Oswayo Valley High School
  • Meghan Marie Capeling of Bridgeport, Manlius Pebble Hill School
  • Daniel Wilson Seaberg of Fairport, Fairport High School
  • Jessica Elizabeth Addesa of Depew, Depew High School
  • Kimberly Marie Potfora of Tonawanda, Kenmore East Senior High School
  • Jacob William Caldwell of Frewsburg, Frewsburg Central School
  • Megan Nicole Eubank of Baldwinsville, Charles W. Baker High School
  • Sushmita Gelda of Fayetteville, Fayetteville-Manlius High School
  • Eric Anthony Yonda of Binghamton, Chenango Forks Central High School
  • Timothy Lawrence Dubill of Hamburg, Hamburg High School
  • Daniel Martin Miller of Millburn, NJ, Millburn High School
  • Rachel Esther Aigen of Staten Island, Curtis High School
  • Anthony Joseph Falvo of Rochester, Irondequoit High School
  • James Alexander Corra of Clarence, St. Joseph’s Collegiate Institute
  • Jenna Suzanne Cunningham of Syracuse, West Genesee Senior High School
  • Rachel Ariel Malken of Forest Hills, LaGuardia High School of Music & Art and Performing Arts
  • Akshata Kiran Chaudhary of Pittsford, Pittsford Sutherland High School
  • Lauren Elizabeth Wager of Lockport, Lockport High School
  • Arvind Balaji Senthilkumar of Edison, NJ, Edison Township High School
  • Julie Ellen Powers of Marcellus, Marcellus High School
  • Vishal Suresh of Liverpool, Liverpool High School
  • Anna Mathur Jacquinot of Schenectady, Guilderland High School
  • Pramod Mohan Rao of Almond, Alfred-Almond High School
  • Natalia Anna Alexandridi of Williamsville, Williamsville High School North.

Media Contact Information

Ellen Goldbaum
News Content Manager
Tel: 716-645-4605