UB Chair of Medicine is Honored by Heart Rhythm Society for Distinguished Service

Release Date: May 30, 2012 This content is archived.


Buffalo, N.Y. -- Anne B. Curtis, MD, Charles and Mary Bauer Professor and Chair of the Department of Medicine in the University at Buffalo School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, has received the 2012 Distinguished Service Award from the Heart Rhythm Society.

The award recognizes her outstanding contributions to the Heart Rhythm Society, which she has served in a number of capacities, including as president in 2006. More recently, she served as chair of the society's governance committee. Currently, she chairs its ethics committee.

Curtis is one of the world's leading clinical cardiac electrophysiologists and an expert in cardiac arrhythmias. Her clinical research has significantly advanced knowledge of human cardiac electrophysiology and heart-rhythm abnormalities.

She has been principal investigator, co-investigator, sponsor or steering committee member on 85 research studies and clinical trials and has written over 250 peer-reviewed manuscripts, book chapters, reviews and editorials. She also is author of a book on cardiac pacing.

Curtis received a 2010 Distinguished Fellowship Award from the International Academy of Cardiology.

In 2011, she was a key contributor to guidelines on atrial fibrillation that are issued periodically by the American College of Cardiology Foundation/American Heart Association Task Force on Practice Guidelines.

She lives in Buffalo.

Media Contact Information

Ellen Goldbaum
News Content Manager
Tel: 716-645-4605