Lafferty Elected President of UB Alumni Association

By Barbara A. Byers

Release Date: August 18, 2011 This content is archived.


Related Multimedia

Tim Lafferty of East Aurora has been elected president of the UB Alumni Association.

BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Tim Lafferty of East Aurora, N.Y., has been elected to serve a two-year term as president of the UB Alumni Association.

National sales manager for the PCA Group, Inc., an information technology consulting firm in Buffalo, Lafferty is responsible for the oversight and implementation of the company's sales and marketing strategies.

Lafferty earned a bachelor of science degree from UB's School of Management in 1986, and has served on the UBAA Board of Directors since 2003. He and his wife, Kathleen, were founding members and co-chairs of the UB Parent Council. Their daughter, Meghan, graduated from UB in 2008 and is enrolled in the MBA program, and their son, Patrick, attends East Aurora Senior High School. In addition, Lafferty's uncle, Bob Yerge, was a member of the 1958 Lambert Cup football team, which declined a bowl bid because two of its African-American players were prevented from participating.

Other officers elected for the 2011-12 term are: Carol A. Gloff, BS '75, of Natick, Mass., first vice president and chair, board development committee; Lawrence J. Zielinski, MBA '77 & BA '75, of Elma, N.Y., immediate past president; Nicholas J. Fabozzi, BS '87, of Williamsville, N.Y., vice president for finance and chair, financial resource management committee; Kenneth M. Jones, MA '84, of Perry Hall, Md., chair, audit committee; Kathleen Kaney, MBA '96 & BA '94, of Charlotte, N.C., chair, chapters committee & chapter leader representative; Ruth Kleinman, BA '05, of Port Washington, N.Y., co-chair, chapters committee; James M. Militello, BA '79, of Gainesville, Va., chair, communication committee; Clifton M. Bergfeld, JD '08 & BA '01, of Buffalo, N.Y., chair, government relations committee; Dennis R. Horrigan, MS '81 & MS '70, of Buffalo, chair, membership committee; Paul R. Hammer, BA '78, of Williamsville, chair, programs and events committee; Michael A. Anderson, BS '97, of Hamburg, N.Y., chair, student relations committee; and Nicholas J. Gill, MS '08 & BS '02, of Lancaster, N.Y., chair, volunteer relations committee.

At-large members elected are Willie R. Evans, EdB '60, of Buffalo, past president's representative; Mary Garlick Roll, MS '88 & BS '84, of Williamsville; Peter J. Grogan, BS '81, of East Aurora; Wayne M. Nelligan, Attended, of Cheektowaga, N.Y.; Mark W. Nusbaum, MArch '85 & BPS '83, of New York, N.Y.; Thomas A. Palmer, JD '75 & MBA '71, of East Amherst, N.Y.; Charles A. Smilinich, EdM '07 & EdM '03 & BA '01, of Tonawanda, N.Y.; Mark J. Stramaglia, MBA '86 & BS '81, of Williamsville, special advisor; and Alison Wagner, JD '00, of Brooklyn, N.Y.

Reelected members of the board of directors are Rita M. Andolina, MSW '88 & BA '80, of West Seneca, N.Y.; Randy J. Asher, BS '95, of Staten Island, N.Y.; Tyler A. Balentine, MUP '06 & BA '03, of Buffalo; Jason L. Bird, BA '05, of Tonawanda; Carrie L. Boye, BFA '97, of Amherst; Robert W. Chapman, MSW '03 & BA '91, of Buffalo; Kimberly S. Conidi, JD '05 & BA '99, of West Seneca; Mary B. Dunn, PMCert '93 & DDS '90, of East Amherst; Matthew E. LaSota, BA '04, of Buffalo; Christian Lovelace, JD '06, of Buffalo; Richard J. Lynch, DDS '83 & BA '79, of Williamsville; Patricia Maloney, PhD '02 & BA '73, of Potomac, Md.; Michael J. Murray, MBA '85 & BS '75, of Hamburg; Melissa Palmucci, EdM '04 & BA '01, of Schenectady, N.Y.; Ezra J. Staley, JD '09 & MBA '09, of Grand Island, N.Y.; David J. Stinner, BA '98, of Kenmore, N.Y.; Shyam Charan Vasantha Kumar, MS '08 & BS '06, of Buffalo; and Sylvia Williams Ferguson, BA '98, of Buffalo.

Newly elected members of the board of directors are Ronald Balter, BA '80, of Brooklyn, N.Y.; Lisa Berrittella, JD '04, of Penfield, N.Y.; Lisa M. Kirisits, MBA '87 & BS '85, of Lancaster, N.Y.; Ken Lam, EdM '04 & BA '01, of White Plains, N.Y.; Donna M. Manion, BA '94, of New York; Peter A. Petrella Jr., BA '00, of Lancaster; Jennifer Piccone, MBA '99 & BS '95, of Webster, N.Y.; Bernard A. Tolbert, MSW '73 & BS '71, of Buffalo; John Warren IV, BA '01, of Ashburn, Va.; Ann Wegrzyn, MBA '90 & BS '85, of Orchard Park, N.Y.

The UB Alumni Association is a volunteer-led international organization that provides ongoing service to alumni and a focus of alumni support for, and service to, UB, its students, faculty and staff. For more information, visit