UB School of Social Work Students Receive Awards

By Sue Wuetcher

Release Date: June 19, 2008 This content is archived.


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Seventeen students attending the University at Buffalo School of Social Work received awards during the school's recent commencement ceremony.

The University at Buffalo is a premier research-intensive public university, a flagship institution in the State University of New York system that is its largest and most comprehensive campus. UB's more than 28,000 students pursue their academic interests through more than 300 undergraduate, graduate and professional degree programs. Founded in 1846, the University at Buffalo is a member of the Association of American Universities.

The students who received awards were:

• Melissa Davies of Warsaw, the Thorn and Rose Award, presented to a graduating student who has demonstrated integrity, maturity, collegiality and volunteerism.

• Allen Bethea of Buffalo, the Archie W. Swanson Honorary Award, presented to a graduating student who has demonstrated in fieldwork practice professional integrity, creativity, respect for the dignity of people, warmth and keen sensitivity.

• Matthew Tice of Buffalo, the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) Award, Western New York Division, presented to a student who has demonstrated academic excellence and personified values that are enunciated by the NASW.

• Laura Landry of Amherst, the Julian Sodja Memorial Award, presented to a graduating student who has made an extraordinary contribution to addictions practice, addicted trauma survivors and/or people with coexisting psychiatric disorders.

• Ellen Bean of Buffalo, the Dena P. Gold Memorial Fund Award, given to a student for outstanding study, fieldwork or other contributions related to families, women or children.

• Rebecca Green of Buffalo, the Terese M. Eusanio Memorial Scholarship recognizing and supporting a continuing part-time M.S.W. student who demonstrates an interest in working in an area of women's health.

• Kristin Cangialosi of Amherst, the Dorothy L. Lynn Honorary Award recognizing a student who has demonstrated consistently outstanding performance in class and in the field during the foundation years of the degree program.

• Jennifer Willett of Lewiston, the Haseltine T. Clements Memorial Fund Award, given to a graduating student who has demonstrated a concern for human dignity and interracial relationships in his/her field performance or through participation in cross-cultural activities to enhance interracial relationships.

• Gabriella McBean of Buffalo, the Louisa Cielen Scholarship. Established by Emil J. Cielen, this annual award is presented to a meritorious student entering his/her final year of the M.S.W. program with a commitment in the field of health.

• Chris Lunsford of Buffalo, the Niles Carpenter Scholarship. Named after the first dean of the School of Social Work, this scholarship is given to a student who has finished the foundation curriculum of the M.S.W. program and plans to return for the concentration coursework.

• Heather Tighe of Baldwinsville, the Kristopher Braselton Memorial Award, presented to a graduating M.S.W. student from the health/mental health/disabilities concentration who has exhibited sensitivity and caring toward others, supportiveness of his/her classmates, a sense of humor and a distinct ability to make another's day a bit brighter.

• Christina Howells of Buffalo, the School of Social Work Alumni Association Award, presented to a student who has completed the foundation curriculum and has demonstrated practice skills, relationship-building with clients and a commitment to the social work profession in the field education experience.

• Maurice Samuel of Buffalo, the DREAM (Developing Relationships through Empowerment, Advocacy and Motivation) Award.

The School of Social Work Outstanding Student of the Year Award is given to graduating students who have demonstrated academic excellence; leadership abilities within the school, community or university; and a commitment to the social work profession through their roles as students, colleagues or members of the community. Receiving the awards were:

• Nicole Fava of Londonderry, Buffalo site.

• Eugenie Steven of Fairport, Rochester site.

• Charity Lowry of Olean, Jamestown site.

• Cathleen Reddy of Horseheads, Corning site.