Metro New York City Residents Inducted Into Phi Beta Kappa

By Sue Wuetcher

Release Date: May 22, 2008 This content is archived.


BUFFALO, NY. -- Residents of metro New York City attending the University at Buffalo recently were inducted into the Omicron Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa honorary society.

Students selected to be members must be seniors graduating in a liberal arts degree program or one of a small number of juniors. They must have a grade-point average of 3.75 or higher with 85 credit hours completed, or 3.50 or higher with 100 credit hours completed.

The University at Buffalo is a premier research-intensive public university, a flagship institution in the State University of New York system that is its largest and most comprehensive campus. UB's more than 28,000 students pursue their academic interests through more than 300 undergraduate, graduate and professional degree programs. Founded in 1846, the University at Buffalo is a member of the Association of American Universities.

The students who were inducted and their areas of study are:

BAYSIDE: Amy Curcio, psychology.

BLAUVELT: Andrew Bernstein, romance languages and literatures.

BROOKLYN: Ada Lee, biomedical sciences; Onel Abreu, psychology; Meirong Kuang, psychology; Cindy Wong, social sciences interdisciplinary; Diana Shtivelman, communicative disorders and sciences; and Elina Vaysbeyn, anthropology.

CEDARHURST: Chelsea Galman, communication.

CENTRAL ISLIP: Ganiyu Amusa, biomedical sciences.

COMMACK: Lauren Madoff, communicative disorders and sciences.

EAST NORTHPORT: Amy Bouvin, psychology.

EAST PATCHOGUE: Reed Goodman, English.

FLUSHING: Joyce Wang, sociology, and Ting Fang Lin, media study.

FRESH MEADOWS: Alon Eliyahu, chemistry.

GREAT NECK: Daniel Mitzner, political science.

HOLLIS HILLS: Hilary Weinberg, communicative disorders and sciences.

HOLTSVILLE: Domenic Lanza, political science.

LARCHMONT: Stella Kanchewa, psychology.

LEVITTOWN: Jessica Kleiner, communicative disorders and sciences.

LONG ISLAND CITY: Jennifer Akbar, geography.

MASSAPEQUA: Nikole Seitz, social sciences interdisciplinary.

MERRICK: Melissa Buchman, psychology.

MONTROSE: David Goldberger, chemistry.

MOUNT SINAI: Emily Briglia, social sciences interdisciplinary.

NORTH BELLMORE: Nicole Haimson, social sciences interdisciplinary.

NORTH MASSAPEQUA: Paul Canallatos, biomedical sciences, and Christine Dejewski, communicative disorders and sciences.

OCEANSIDE: Sarah Salzberg, social sciences interdisciplinary, and Lacey Stanton, sociology.

OSSINING: Madeline Zachacz, social sciences interdisciplinary.

OTISVILLE: Cole Zanetti, psychology.

PLAINVIEW: Jenna Rossi, social sciences interdisciplinary, and Nina Schlissel, history.

REGO PARK: Jaehong Park, media study, and Alana Bibergal, communicative disorders and sciences.

RIDGEWOOD: Philip Zygnerski, biochemistry.

ROSEDALE: Ching Chan, chemistry.

STATEN ISLAND: Laura Neese, theatre and dance, and Jared Vega, history.

SYOSSET: Elizabeth Horwitz, communicative disorders and sciences.

VERPLANCK: Courtney Barnas, psychology.

WEST HEMPSTEAD: Sarah Rennie, visual studies.

WESTHAMPTON: Jillian Huelser, communication.

WHITESTONE: Kimberly Sheiner, communicative disorders and sciences.