Southern Tier Residents Inducted Into Phi Beta Kappa

By Sue Wuetcher

Release Date: May 22, 2008 This content is archived.


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Residents of the Southern Tier attending the University at Buffalo recently were inducted into the Omicron Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa honorary society.

Students selected to be members must be seniors graduating in a liberal arts degree program or one of a small number of juniors. They must have a grade-point average of 3.75 or higher with 85 credit hours completed, or 3.50 or higher with 100 credit hours completed.

The University at Buffalo is a premier research-intensive public university, a flagship institution in the State University of New York system that is its largest and most comprehensive campus. UB's more than 28,000 students pursue their academic interests through more than 300 undergraduate, graduate and professional degree programs. Founded in 1846, the University at Buffalo is a member of the Association of American Universities.

The students who were inducted and their areas of study are:

ALLEGANY: Scott Morgan, history.

APALACHIN: Melissa Cron, psychology.

BINGHAMTON: Michael Kopalek, economics.

CORNING: Jean Corbett, psychology.

ELMIRA: Riane Corter, psychology.

ENDICOTT: Jeremy Riley, psychology.

HORSEHEADS: Aziza Ejaz, visual studies.

HOUGHTON: John Hu, biomedical sciences.

JAMESTOWN: Michelle Boehm, psychology.

OLEAN: Lisa Griffith, biomedical sciences, and Julianne Phillips, theatre and dance.

STOCKTON: Jeffrey Shevlin, political science.

VESTAL: Leslie Church, psychology, and Chantal Englert, romance languages and literatures.

WAYLAND: Katherine Berry, psychology.