Rochester-Area Residents Inducted Into Phi Beta Kappa

By Sue Wuetcher

Release Date: May 21, 2008 This content is archived.


BUFFALO, N.Y. – Rochester-area residents attending the University at Buffalo recently were inducted into the Omicron Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa honorary society.

Students selected to be members must be seniors graduating in a liberal arts degree program or one of a small number of juniors. They must have a grade-point average of 3.75 or higher with 85 credit hours completed, or 3.50 or higher with 100 credit hours completed.

The University at Buffalo is a premier research-intensive public university, a flagship institution in the State University of New York system that is its largest and most comprehensive campus. UB's more than 28,000 students pursue their academic interests through more than 300 undergraduate, graduate and professional degree programs. Founded in 1846, the University at Buffalo is a member of the Association of American Universities.

The students who were inducted and their areas of study are:

BATAVIA: Kristie Durei, political science.

FAIRPORT: Laura Groschadl, psychology, and Rachel Steere, biomedical sciences.

FARMINGTON: Holly Savage, social sciences interdisciplinary.

HILTON: Kelly Warth, English.

HOLLEY: Tricia Defilipps, psychology, and Susan Beatty, mathematics.

LEICESTER: Christine Harvey, romance languages and literatures.

LIMA: Ashonte Stills, social sciences interdisciplinary.

NUNDA: Rachel King, communication.

PENFIELD: Christopher Holtz, political science.

PITTSFORD: Joseph Chiavaroli, computer science and engineering; Jessica Colwell, political science; and Neetha Reddy, biomedical sciences.

ROCHESTER: Colleen Quinn, biomedical sciences; Frances Karras, romance languages and literatures; Brandy Solomon, psychology; Rebecca Wedow, psychology; Alvinisha McGee, psychology; Kyle Rumley, history; Nathan Schutt, biological sciences; Kevin Cleland, mathematics; Laura Monnat, social sciences interdisciplinary; Julia Cole, romance languages and literatures; Jennifer Lynn, communication; Subrata Das, biomedical sciences; Aelish Hart, linguistics; Katherine Brewer, biomedical sciences; Alexander Douglas, English; Melora Varley, psychology; Gina Gillette, theatre and dance; and Christen Spaccio, English.

SPENCERPORT: Shannon Elliott, sociology, and Rachel Smith, media study.

SPRINGWATER: Patrick Dailey, history.

VICTOR: Amanda Sebring, social sciences interdisciplinary.

WEBSTER: Erika Albright, English; Sara Bowllan, political science; Aaron Burberry, biochemistry; Nicole McGrath, social sciences interdisciplinary; and Michael Ritz, history.