Erie County Residents Inducted Into Phi Beta Kappa at UB

By Sue Wuetcher

Release Date: May 20, 2008 This content is archived.


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Erie County residents attending the University at Buffalo recently were inducted into the Omicron Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa honorary society.

Students selected to be members must be seniors graduating in a liberal arts degree program or one of a small number of juniors. They must have a grade-point average of 3.75 or higher with 85 credit hours completed, or 3.50 or higher with 100 credit hours completed.

The University at Buffalo is a premier research-intensive public university, a flagship institution in the State University of New York system that is its largest and most comprehensive campus. UB's more than 28,000 students pursue their academic interests through more than 300 undergraduate, graduate and professional degree programs. Founded in 1846, the University at Buffalo is a member of the Association of American Universities.

The students who were inducted and their areas of study are:

ALDEN: Meghan Chadsey, philosophy, and Tadeusz Kaczynski, biological sciences.

BLASDELL: Ryan Flaherty, political science, and Nicole Tiburzi, biochemistry.

CHEEKTOWAGA: Katelyn Carr, psychology; Bradley Loliger, psychology; James Noble, geology; Amber Towart, anthropology; Kristina Cirocco, psychology; Amanda Mika, anthropology; and Marc Badura, psychology.

CLARENCE: Lisa Diaz-Ordaz, history; Shannon Groff, linguistics; Mariana Sobczak, psychology; and Steven Cummiskey, history.

DEPEW: Ryan Mooney, political science; Louis Mussari, psychology; Jennifer Pye, communicative disorders and sciences; Phillip Stadler, psychology; and Katie Kestel, psychology.

DERBY: Sean Gemerek, political science, and Eric Vogan, political science.

EAST AURORA: Jeremy Detwiler, computer science and engineering, and Carolyn Whitcomb, communicative disorders and sciences.

GLENWOOD: Aaron Krolikowski, social sciences interdisciplinary.

GRAND ISLAND: Kathryn Figliotti, political science, Jennifer Gast, media study; Karen Hutzler, psychology; Jenna Meyer, English; Justin Piershalski, English; Yasmin Raza, classics; Meher Singh, mathematics; and Galen Westmoore, biological sciences.

HAMBURG: Lauryn Ballesteros, romance languages and literatures; Matthew Cullen, social sciences interdisciplinary; Allison Huson, psychology; Benjamin Verplanke, biological sciences; and Rebecca Miller, biological sciences.

HOLLAND: Danielle Rainforth, political science, and Dean Wieczorek, chemistry.

KENMORE: Rebecca Anderson, sociology; Molly Bauer, psychology; Katrina Clark, communicative disorders and sciences; Laura Curthoys, theatre and dance; Molly Foegen, psychology; Alex Johnston, history; and Jill Jablonski, English.

LANCASTER: Genevieve Neumann, classics; Amy Nosek, psychology; Kimberly Nosek, psychology; and Kenneth Webster, political science.

ORCHARD PARK: Maura Baritot-Finnerty, psychology; Brendan Fitzgerald, music; Jillian Gregorie, social science interdisciplinary; Elizabeth Komoroske, psychology; and Anthony Travagliato, biological sciences.

SLOAN: Jenni Marinaccio, psychology.

SPRINGVILLE: Marla Sabuda, communicative disorders and sciences.

TONAWANDA: Celia Braunscheidel, social sciences interdisciplinary; Brandon Gaylord, political science; Donna Grant, social sciences interdisciplinary; James Jufer, mathematics; Jeffrey Koch, mathematics; Carrie McNamee, biological sciences; Hieu Nguyen, biochemistry; Brooke Cotton, English; Joshua Feuerstein, biological sciences; Sarah Hofheins, visual studies; Christine Rowe, psychology; and Cheryl Schutt, psychology.

WEST SENECA: Tara Bancroft, biological sciences; Rajavi Parikh, special major; Lisa Braun, psychology; Danielle Bucella, history; Kelly Carr, social sciences interdisciplinary; Catherine Nicastro, classics; and Bradley Tober mathematics.