Niagara County Residents Inducted Into Phi Beta Kappa

By Sue Wuetcher

Release Date: May 20, 2008 This content is archived.


BUFFALO, N.Y. -– Niagara County residents attending the University at Buffalo recently were inducted into the Omicron Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa honorary society.

Students selected to be members must be seniors graduating in a liberal arts degree program or one of a small number of juniors. They must have a grade-point average of 3.75 or higher with 85 credit hours completed, or 3.50 or higher with 100 credit hours completed.

The University at Buffalo is a premier research-intensive public university, a flagship institution in the State University of New York system that is its largest and most comprehensive campus. UB's more than 28,000 students pursue their academic interests through more than 300 undergraduate, graduate and professional degree programs. Founded in 1846, the University at Buffalo is a member of the Association of American Universities.

The students who were inducted and their areas of study are:

LEWISTON: Mary Labarber, psychology.

LOCKPORT: Astrid Campagna, biomedical sciences; Lindsay Hall, romance languages and literatures; Kristine Henn, communicative disorders and sciences; Injoon Park, biological sciences; and Cara Burns, psychology.

NIAGARA FALLS: Nicholas D'Aloise Jr., political science; Milen Radell, psychology; and Ashley Worden, social sciences interdisciplinary.

NORTH TONAWANDA: Lynne Banks, mathematics, and Justin Martin, history.

RANSOMVILLE: Amanda Clark, social sciences interdisciplinary.

SANBORN: Jena Mueller, social sciences interdisciplinary, and Jessica Oppee, communicative disorders and sciences.

WHEATFIELD: Victoria Scarpello, social sciences interdisciplinary.

YOUNGSTOWN: Stephanie Lester, anthropology, and John Salekraham, biological sciences.