UB Pharmacy Students Receive Awards

By Sue Wuetcher

Release Date: May 27, 2005 This content is archived.


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Twenty-four graduates of the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences received awards during the school's recent commencement ceremony.

The University at Buffalo is a premier research-intensive public university, the largest and most comprehensive campus in the State University of New York system. The UB School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences is the only pharmacy school in the SUNY system.

The award winners were:

• Barbara Lewinski of Alden, the Robert M. Cooper Memorial Award, the Pharmacists' Society of the State of New York Award, and the Pharmacists' Association of Western New York Award.

• Daniel Giesler of Amherst, the Lilly Achievement Award and the Renee A. Dederich Memorial Award.

• Tak Li of Amherst, the Roger Mantsavinos Award and the Margaret C. Swisher Memorial Award.

• Kathryn Lindsay of Amherst, the Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Recognition Award.

• Kari Wilkens of Amherst, the UB Pharmacy Alumni Association Award.

• Jasmina Demirovic of Buffalo, the GlaxoSmithKline Patient Care Award and the Kelli Jordan Memorial Award.

• Susan Dzierzewski of Buffalo, the David E. Guttman Award.

• Rosa Angela Falcone of Buffalo, the Michael E. Crawford Award and the Ambulatory Care Professional Experience Program Award.

• Desiree Tomilo of Buffalo, New York State Chapter of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy Research Award.

• Louis Bystrak of Cheektowaga, the Academy of Students of Pharmacy National Patient Counseling Award

• Siobhan Foley of Clifton Springs, the American Pharmaceutical Association Academy of Students of Pharmacy Mortar and Pestle Professionalism Award, sponsored by McNeil Consumer Healthcare; the McKesson Leadership Award; and the Academy of Students of Pharmacy Certificate of Recognition.

• Melinda Williams of Corfu, the National Community Pharmacists Association Outstanding Student Member Award.

• Danny McNatty of Lancaster, the A.B. Lemon Memorial Award.

• Jeremy Partlow of Latham, the Roy M. Barr Award.

• David Adams of Lockport, the Francis P. Taylor Award, the Merck Award, and the Facts and Comparisons Award of Excellence in Clinical Communications.

• Michelle Bricknell-Smith of Lockport, the Lori Esch Memorial Award.

• Kristin Mikolin of Orchard Park, the TEVA Pharmaceuticals USA Outstanding Student Award.

• Katherine Juba of Rochester, the Roche Pharmacy Communications Award.

• Katie Morgan of Rochester, the Acute Care Professional Experience Program Award.

• Aria Adamy of Snyder, the Samuel J. Bauda Award and the Perrigo Award of Excellence in Non-Prescription Medication Studies.

• Melannie Cummings of South Byron, the Phi Lambda Sigma Chapter Member of the Year Award.

• Yelizaveta Russ of Webster, the Western New York Society of Health-system Pharmacists Award.

• Mark Wrobel of Williamsville, the Mylan Pharmaceuticals Excellence in Pharmacy Award.

• Amy Yeung of Williamsville, the Eino Nelson Award, the Robert H. Ritz Award and the Merck Award.