Hon. Ann T. Mikoll to Receive 2004 Jaeckle Award

UB Law Alumni Association convocation to precede awards luncheon

By Ilene Fleischmann

Release Date: October 13, 2004 This content is archived.


Related Multimedia

Hon. Ann T. Mikoll will receive the UB Law School's highest honor on Oct. 30, the Jaeckle Award.

BUFFALO, N.Y. -- The Honorable Ann T. Mikoll, the first woman elected to serve on a New York State appellate court and a lifelong advocate for the cultural and educational training of young people, will receive the 2004 Edwin F. Jaeckle Award from the University at Buffalo Law School and the UB Law Alumni Association at a luncheon on Oct. 30 in the University Inn and Conference Center, 2401 North Forest Road, Amherst.

The award, for UB Law alumnus Edwin F. Jaeckle, Class of 1915, is the highest honor bestowed by the Law School and the Law Alumni Association. It is given annually to an individual who has distinguished herself or himself and has made significant contributions to the Law School and to the legal profession.

Prior Jaeckle Award winners include Hon. Charles S. Desmond, Frank G. Raichle, Jr., M. Robert Koren, Manly Fleischmann, Hon. M. Dolores Denman and former UB President William R. Greiner.

The luncheon and award presentation at 12:30 p.m. will follow the morning-long UB Law Alumni Convocation, an annual continuing legal educational program, beginning at 8:30 a.m. The convocation's focus this year is "Emerging Developments, Changes and Updates In Professional Ethics." The full morning program is approved for 3 CLE credits in ethics and professional practice.

The convocation and Jaeckle Award luncheon are among more than 50 inaugural events being held in October in conjunction with the investiture of John B. Simpson as UB's 14th president.

Nils Olsen, Law School dean and professor, praised Mikoll, noting that "throughout her illustrious career, Ann Mikoll has brought honor to the Law School and to the legal profession. She has long served as a distinguished and respected jurist and has provided guidance to the school through her active and continuing membership on the Dean's Advisory Council. She is an exceptionally worthy recipient of the Jaeckle Award."

Prior to Mikoll's appointment as the first woman elected to a New York State appellate court, she had served as assistant corporation counsel for the City of Buffalo, for 14 years as a Buffalo City Court

judge and was elected to the state's Supreme Court in 1971 and re-elected in 1985. She retired in 1999 as senior associate justice of the Appellate Division, 3rd Department.

Her entry into public life was preceded by lifelong civic activity, with special concern for the cultural and educational training of young people. For 21 years, she planned, supervised and executed youth programs for fraternal cultural organizations, teaching literature, poetry, music, singing and dancing to their young members. She is a 1954 graduate of the UB Law School.

The UB Law Alumni Convocation will feature eight expert speakers, including judges, alumni practitioners, and law faculty members, who will present updates on professional ethics in four practice areas. The areas and speakers are: business transactions, UB Law School Clinical Professor Thomas F. Disare and Ralph L. Halpern; matrimonial law, Patrick C. O'Reilly and Paul A. Vance, Surrogate Court Practice, Susan J. Egloff and Catherine T. Wettlaufer, and litigation, Diane F. Bosse and Richard T. Sullivan.

The program is sponsored by Forge Consulting LLC, LandAmerica Commonwealth, Bar Association of Erie County, Exacta Legal Document Solutions and Webster Szanyi LLP.

The fee to attend the convocation and Jaeckle luncheon is $75 per person for Law Alumni Association members who have paid their dues for 2004-05, and $85 per person for all others. A table for 10 may be purchased for $750. Patron tickets are available for an additional $25 for individuals and an additional $200 for firms. Patrons will be listed in the luncheon program.

The fee includes 3 CLE credits, reference materials, breakfast and the Jaeckle Award luncheon. To register, call the UB Law Alumni Office at 645-2107 by Oct. 22 or mail a check made payable to the UB Law Alumni Association and send to UB Law Alumni Office, 312 O'Brian Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260. Fax registration will be accepted for those paying by credit card (Fax: 645-5940). Free parking is available at the University Inn and Conference Center.