UB's Brazeau Receives Lyman Award

By Sue Wuetcher

Release Date: May 21, 2003 This content is archived.


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Gayle A. Brazeau of Amherst has been selected to receive the 2003 Rufus A. Lyman Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) for the best work published in 2002 in the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education (AJPE).

Brazeau is associate dean for academic affairs in the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences and associate professor in the UB departments of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

The paper, entitled "Students' Perceptions of their Preparation to Provide Pharmaceutical Care," reports students' perceptions of their readiness in each of four years of the curriculum to perform advanced pharmacy-practice competencies developed by faculty at the University of Florida College of Pharmacy. Brazeau was a co-author on the paper, along with Florida faculty members L. Douglas Ried (lead author), Carole L. Kimberlin, Michael J. Meldrum and Michael W. McKenzie.

The Lyman Award will be presented at the AACP's annual meeting in July. The AACP is the national organization representing and supporting all U.S. colleges and schools of pharmacy and their faculty members. Brazeau serves as chair-elect of its Council of Faculties, which addresses interdisciplinary matters of curriculum, course content, education methods, faculty/administration relations and national issues of general interest to pharmacy faculties.

Brazeau's research interests focus on understanding the biochemical and toxicological interactions of compounds such as alcohol and cocaine, and drugs such as statins, antibiotics, estrogen and estrogen-replacement therapy. Other research interests include development of intramuscular formulations that result in less muscle damage upon injection without altering drug bioavailability.

Prior to joining the UB pharmacy faculty, she held faculty and administration positions at the University of Houston College of Pharmacy and the University of Florida at Gainesville College of Pharmacy. She earned a doctorate from UB and bachelor and master's degrees from the University of Toledo College of Pharmacy.