Norton Medal, UB's Highest Award, to be Presented to UB President William R. Greiner at Commencement

By Arthur Page

Release Date: May 1, 2003 This content is archived.


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- The University at Buffalo's highest award, the Chancellor Charles P. Norton Medal, will be presented to UB President William R. Greiner at the university's 157th general commencement ceremony at 10 a.m. May 11 in Alumni Arena.

Greiner will be honored for his contributions to UB and the community during his 35-year affiliation with the university, which began in 1967 when he joined the faculty of the Law School and included seven years as the university's first provost before his appointment as UB's 13th president in 1991.

Greiner in January announced his intention to step down as UB's chief executive officer effective June 30, or at a later date if requested by State University of New York Chancellor Robert L. King.

Announcing that Greiner will be this year's Norton Medal recipient, Jeremy M. Jacobs, chair of the UB Council, said, "Bill richly deserves the Chancellor Charles P. Norton Medal, UB's highest award, for his many contributions to the university, as well as to the larger region.

"His outstanding leadership has ensured UB's place among the nation's best public research universities, and his passionate advocacy for Buffalo Niagara has led directly to increased opportunities for greater regional economic development.

"It will be an honor and privilege to confer on him this distinguished recognition," Jacobs added. "Bill's countless accomplishments and wise stewardship have positioned UB well for the future. The university community has truly been fortunate to have had the benefit of his service over more than three decades."

The letter of nomination from the UB Council's Norton Medal Committee forwarding Greiner's name noted, "Bill has distinguished himself, our university, and our community through his service and achievements in ways that amply fulfill Charles P. Norton's 1922 mandate that the annual award be conferred upon individuals who 'personify civic patriotism and vivify public service in the eyes of the citizens of Buffalo,' and whose actions and accomplishments 'dignify the performer and Buffalo in the eyes of the world.'"

The committee noted that Greiner's contributions "over his 35-plus years of service to UB and to our region are significant and lasting, and abundantly reflect the rich history of UB's highest award.

"In all that he has done during this time, Bill epitomizes the spirit and nobility of this award; indeed, Buffalo Niagara would be hard pressed to find a more passionate or skillful champion for the region than Bill has been as UB president, and will surely continue to be even after his return to the professoriate at UB."

Members of the committee were Randall L. Clark, chair; Sheila H. Battle, and Jonathan A. Dandes.

Norton Award recipients in recent years have included that late Lawrence D. Jacobs, Paul W. Kurtz, Philip B. Wels, the late M. Dolores Denman, Eli Ruckenstein, Robert W. Creeley, Robert E. Rich, Sr., and D. Bruce Johnstone.