UB Pharmacy Students Honored at Commencement

By Sue Wuetcher

Release Date: June 11, 2002 This content is archived.


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Twenty graduates of the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences received 36 awards during the school's recent commencement ceremony.

The award winners were:

o William Prescott of Ruie Road, North Tonawanda, received the Lilly Achievement Award, the Michael E. Crawford Award and the AphA-ASP Mortar and Pestle Professionalism Award sponsored by McNeil Consumer Healthcare.

o Siobhan Felser of Saddle Rock Road, Holbrook, received the Roger Mantsavinos Award, the Eino Nelson Award, the Robert H. Ritz Award and the Merck Award.

o Melanie Bilz of Elk Street, Springville, received the Phi Lambda Sigma Chapter Member of the Year Award, the UB Pharmacy Alumni Association Award, the Pharmacists' Society of the State of New York Award, the Academy of Students of Pharmacy Certificate of Recognition (for 2002) and the Pharmacists' Association of Western New York Student Leadership Award.

o Sarah Coutu of Loretta Street, Tonawanda, received the GlaxoSmithKline Patient Care Award and the Academy of Students of Pharmacy Certificate of Recognition (for 2001).

o Claudette Oyeku of Beach 68th Street, Far Rockaway, received the Michael E. Crawford Award.

o Kenneth Chan of Paradise Lane, Tonawanda, received the David E. Guttman Award.

o Andrew Burgdorf of Auburn Street, Hannibal, received the Renee A. Dederich Memorial Award.

o Lauren Miller of Beach Ridge Road, North Tonawanda, received the Francis P. Taylor Award, the Merck Award, the Margaret C. Swisher Memorial Award and the Ambulatory Care Professional Experience Program Award.

o Ursula Hahn of Invernes, Fla., received the National Community Pharmacists Association Outstanding Student Member Award, the McKesson Leadership Award and the Robert M. Cooper Memorial Award.

o Joseph Miles of Tonawanda Creek Road, Lockport, received the Pfizer U.S Pharmaceuticals Outstanding Leader Award and the Pfizer Consumer Healthcare Nonprescription Drug Therapy Award.

o Elizabeth Miles of Tonawanda Creek Road, Lockport, received the Mylan Pharmaceuticals Excellence in Pharmacy Award.

o Kathleen Brauen of Locust Street, Lockport, received the Academy of Students of Pharmacy National Patient Counseling Award.

o Shelley Morgan of Caroline Street, Hamilton, Ontario, received the Roche Pharmacy Communications Award.

o Trina Durant of Williamsburg Square, Williamsville, received the Facts and Comparisons Award of Excellence in Clinical Communications.

o Eunjoo Choi of Robin Road, Amherst, received the Roy M. Barr Award.

o Coreen Csicseri of Thurston Avenue, Kenmore, received the Western New York Society of Health-system Pharmacists Award.

o Sarah Scarpace of Greensboro Boulevard, Clifton Park, received the Samuel J. Bauda Award.

o Daniel DiCenso of Ivy Lea, Buffalo, received the Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Recognition Award.

o Sheri Nichols of Embassy Square, Tonawanda, received the A.B. Lemon Memorial Award.

o Jenny Lee of 85th Street, Brooklyn, received the Acute Care Professional Experience Program Award.