25 Students to be Honored as Outstanding Senior in College of Arts and Sciences Departments

By Arthur Page

Release Date: April 19, 2001 This content is archived.


Twenty-five students will be honored for being the outstanding graduating senior in departments within the College of Arts and Sciences at the University at Buffalo in a ceremony and reception to be held at 2 p.m. May 1 in the Screening Room in the Center for the Arts on the UB North (Amherst) Campus.

Each student will receive a medal to be worn at the university's 155th general commencement ceremony on May 13.

Two students will receive two medals and be honored for taking top honors within two departments.

Todd S. Bindig of Holland will be honored as outstanding graduate for the departments of History and Philosophy.

Karen A. Kopecky of Buffalo will be honored as top student in the departments of Economics and Mathematics.

Other students being honored and their departments are:

Department of African American Studies: Danielle L. Bullock of Buffalo.

Department of Anthropology: Jeffrey Wescott of Camillus.

Department of Art: Roseanne Lazar of Canisteo.

Department of Art History: Sarah McLean-Plunkett of Buffalo.

Department of Biology: Daniel Lighthouse of Rochester.

Center for the Americas: Tracy Park of Hamburg.

Department of Chemistry: Brendan C. Mort of Youngstown.

Department of Communicative Disorders and Sciences: Ariana Duke of New Paltz.

Department of Computer Science and Engineering: David Givone of Williamsville.

Department of English: Ji-Hyae Park of Getzville.

Department of Geography: Kevin A. Green of Palm Coast, Fla.

Department of Geology: Michael Dunlap of the Town of Tonawanda.

Department of Linguistics: Nicholas Schwartzmyer of Amherst.

Department of Media Study: Siew-wai Kok of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Department of Modern Languages and Literatures: Jennifer Broderick of the Town of Tonawanda.

Department of Music: Colin A. Renick of Belmont, Mass.

Department of Political Science: Andrew Sreniawski of Hamburg.

Department of Psychology: Micah Geer of Monroe.

Social Sciences Interdisciplinary: Melissa Shepherd of Potsdam.

Department of Sociology: Sean Nealon of Amherst.

Special Major Program: Christine Kowalski of North Tonawanda.

Department of Theatre and Dance: Joseph Celej of Depew.

Department of Women's Studies: Christina Wilson of Rochester.