Architecture And Planning Students Win Awards

By Mara McGinnis

Release Date: May 26, 1998 This content is archived.


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Students in the School of Architecture and Planning at the University at Buffalo recently received awards for excellence in their fields of study.

o Elaine Chow of East Amherst (senior), Scott E. Adams of West Seneca (junior), John McCumisky of Hornell (sophomore), John Sisting of Marcy (sophomore) and Catherine Ferraris of Farmingdale (freshman), Academic Achievement Award to students in each class with highest overall grade-point average

o David Willard of Cheektowaga (freshman), Nathan Wasnock of Bloomfield (freshman), Stephanie Apgar of Lafayette (sophomore), Charles Davis of Buffalo (junior) and Michael S. Tunkey of Snyder (senior), Design Excellence Award to students with outstanding studio work

o Timothy D. Heron of Wappingers Falls, the Alpha Rho Chi Medal for leadership, scholarship and service

o William J. Robideau of Niagara Falls, the Matthew W. DelGaudio Award for the design of an imaginative solution to an architectural problem that is both structurally sound and functionally ideal

o Roma V. Agrawal of India, the Henry Adams Gold Medal for the architecture student with the highest grade-point average

o Sara Howell of Fairport, the R. Buckminister Fuller Award

o Ajanta Pawar and Arati Kirtikar, both of India, first-place Pella/WESTNY Scholarship award for the superior use of fenestration in architecture. Second place went to John Warobick of Williamsville and third place went to Michael Guerra of Buffalo.

o Scott E. Adams of West Seneca, Ian Catbagan of Cheektowaga, Elaine Chow of East Amherst, Charles Davis of Buffalo, Ayelet Gezow of Brockport, Karl H. Koch of Alexander, Amity Kundu of Buffalo, Darrell L. Mayer of Oswego, Rocco P. Menaguale of Fairport, Kerron V. Miller of Brooklyn, Jonathan Murray of Pittsford, Adesh M. Singh of Brooklyn, Korydon H. Smith of Cassadaga and Michael S. Tunkey of Snyder, "Who's Who" certificates based on a combination of scholarship, activity, participation and service to the university

o Bachelor's in Environmental Design: Mark R. Holdren of Derby, Dean's Award for the continuing student with the highest grade-point average; Jonathen M. Karavolias of New York City and John M. Thompson of Buffalo, Academic Excellence Award

o Master's of Urban Planning: Timothy P. Buckley of Buffalo, Dean's Award for the continuing student with the highest grade-point average; Kerry A. Gould of Buffalo, Academic Excellence Award; Richard J. Perrin of Coventry, Conn., Best Thesis/Project Award and Service Award, and Keith D. Martin of Buffalo, American Institute of Certified Planners Outstanding Student Award

o Master's of Science in Applied Public Affairs: Susan Wong of New York City, Dean's Award for the continuing student with the highest grade-point average; Daniel P. Buyer of Orchard Park, Academic Excellence Award; Denise M. Raymond of Niagara Falls, Best Thesis/Project Award, and David I. Rudder of Brooklyn and Lori L. Burns of South Nyack, Public Service Award