UB Recognizes Architecture Students

Release Date: June 6, 1997 This content is archived.


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Fifty students in the School of Architecture and Planning at the University at Buffalo recently received awards for excellence in their fields of study at the UB Architecture and Planning Awards Day.

€ Robert Burnham of Medford, Mass., -- the Alpha Rho Chi Medal for leadership, scholarship and service

€ Daniel Dwyer of Williamsville -- the Matthew W. DelGaudio Award for the design of an imaginative solution to an architectural problem that is both structurally sound and functionally ideal

€ Sonakul Meejaroen of Donmaung, Bangkok, Thailand and Robert Burnham of Medford, Mass. -- the Chair's Award

€ Jamie Robideau of Niagara Falls, Mark Fisher of Buffalo and William Greeley of Buffalo -- the Pella/WESTNY Scholarship for the superior use of fenestration in architecture. Second place went to Israel Lowry of Allegany and Jason Dobbs of Williamson

€ Giona Paolercio of Mahopac, James Kovach of New City, Elaine Chow of East Amherst and Shanntina Moore of Niagara Falls -- Who's Who certificates based on a combination of scholarship, activity, participation and service to the university.

€ Senior Kimberly Kraft of Rochester junior Elaine Chow of East Amherst, sophmore Scott Adams of West Seneca and freshmen John McCumisky of Hornell -- Academic Achievement Awards to students with the highest overall grade-point averages.

€ Environmental Design: Timothy M. Parks of Buffalo, Buckminster Fuller Award; Jonathen M. Karavolias of Port Jefferson, Dean's Award for continuing student in baccaleureate program in environmental design; Regan O. Thompson of Saegertown, Outstanding Academic Achievement Award; Michele A. Rogers of Kenmore, Outstanding Service Award; Christopher M. Goffredo of Syracuse, Student of Merit Award.

€ Urban Planning: Randal T. Evans of Kenmore, Dean's Award for continuing student in master's program in urban planning; Daniel Baldwin Hess of Buffalo, American Institute of Certified Planners Outstanding Student Award and Best Thesis; Tara L. Hoyt of Rush, Outstanding Academic Achievement; Robin E. Lehrberger of Buffalo, Outstanding Service; Andrew M. Eszak of Buffalo, Student of Merit Award; Kerry A. Gould of Buffalo, Certification of Recognition in Achieving the Highest Professional Expectations in Planning Beyond Their First Year as a Graduate Student; Randal T. Evans of Kenmore, Certificate of Recognition for Achieving the Highest Scholarly Expectation in Planning Beyond Their First Year as a Graduate Student; Richard J. Perrin II of North Tonawanda, Certificate of Recognition and Appreciation for Contributions and Services to the Department During Their First Year as a Graduate Student.

€ Applied Public Affairs: Daniel Buyer of Orchard Park, Dean's Award for continuing student in the master's program in applied public affairs studies and the Highest Scholarly Expectation Award; Lori Burns of South Nyack and Denise Raymond of Amherst, Highest Professional Expectation Award; Michelle Kubant of Amherst, Outanding Leadership Award; Vankatesh Pai of Fairport, Best Thesis Project; Jayme Williams of Buffalo, David Rudder of Brooklyn, Edward Scott Willis of Worthington, Shannon Teasley of New York City, Venkatesh Pai of Fairport, Lori Burns of South Nyack, Daniel Buyer of Orchard Park and Denise Raymond of Amherst, Public Service Awards.

Media Contact Information

Patricia Donovan has retired from University Communications. To contact UB's media relations staff, call 716-645-6969 or visit our list of current university media contacts. Sorry for the inconvenience.