Faculty, Staff Honored At UB Dental School Commencement

By Craig Kaputa or Lois Baker

Release Date: June 5, 1997 This content is archived.


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Two faculty members and two staff members were honored recently when the University at Buffalo School of Dental Medicine held its 1997 commencement ceremony.

- Earl Bergey, Ph.D., of Buffalo, associate professor of oral biology, received the Society for the Advancement of Dental Research Award. The award honors the faculty member whose contributions and support have been invaluable in fostering the principles of student research.

- Michael Meenaghan, D.D.S., Ph.D., of Williamsville, professor of oral diagnostic sciences, received The William M. Feagans Award, named after the dean of the school from 1979-93. The award is presented infrequently by the Dental Student Association to a distinguished member of the faculty, staff or administration who "have shown to students a concern that encompasses the finest aspects of academic dentistry, tempered with an appreciation of the demands of 'real life' dentistry and the inherent challenges of student life.'

- Donna Schmidt of Amherst, a secretary in clinical dentistry, and Patrice Jordan of Buffalo, a senior stenographer in clinical dentistry, received the Florence Kronson Award recognizing "the individual who has executed his or her responsibility in an outstanding manner and has contributed significantly to the welfare of students." The award is named for a long-time member of the dental school staff.