UB Medical Students Honored At Commencement

By Craig Kaputa

Release Date: June 27, 1997 This content is archived.


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Forty-two students at the University at Buffalo School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences were honored during the school's commencement ceremony held recently.

€ Jennifer Gennuso of Buffalo, the Buffalo Pediatric Society Award and the Ester Ponce Grimaldi, M.D. Award

€ Joseph Wandass III of Clarence, the Dr. Cyrenius Chapin Award and the John Watson Award in Medicine

€ Andrea Torsone of Fairport, the Dean's Award and the Hans J. Lowenstein Award in Obstetrics

€ Meryl Tucker of White Sulpher Springs, the Dr. Austin Flint Award and the Clyde L. Randall Society Award in Gynecology-Obstetrics

€ Michael Merrill of Victor, the Bernhardt & Sophie B. Gottlieb Award and the Francis J. Klocke Award

€ Sandra Block of Williamsville, the Medical Society of the State of New York Award and the S. Mouchly Small, M.D. Award

€ Eric Hanauer of Buffalo, the Bernhard H. Smith Memorial Award in Clinical Neurology and the Morris & Sadie Stein Neuroanatomy Award

€ Timothy Braatz of Valhalla, the Dr. George Alker Award

€ Eric Finkelstein of East Amherst, the Robin M. Bannerman Memorial Research Award

€ Jean Bae of East Amherst, the Gilbert M. Beck Memorial Prize in Psychiatry

€ Catherine Costello Skae of Nyack and Matthew Taberski of New York City, the Dr. Cyrenius Chapin Awards

€ Kristen Chimileski of Horseheads, the Gordon S. Ehrlich Award

€ Thomas Elmer of Getzville, the Dr. Thomas J. Guttuso Award

€ Vitaly Raykhmam of Brooklyn, the Dr. Heinrich Leonhardt Prize in Surgery

€ Lisa Mendonza of Orchard Park, the G. Norris Miner Memorial Award

€ Christian Rocholl of Howard Beach, the David K. Miller Prize in Medicine

€ Jeffery Cassidy of New Port Richie, Fla., the Dr. Benjamin E. and Lila Obletz Award

€ Paul Maggio of Shoreham, the John R. Paine Award in Surgery

€ Gonzalo Bearman of Oneida, the Stephen J. Paolini Award

€ Christopher Occino of Lakeview, the Mark A. Petrino Award

€ Emmanuella Paul of Spring Valley, the Philip P. Sang Memorial Award

€ Patricia Cawley of Nanuet, the S. Mouchly Small, M.D. Award

€ Pamela Rath of Mckeese Rocks, Pa., the E. J. Weisenheimer Award

€ Denise Woodall of Cambria Heights, the Frederick B. Wilkes Pediatric Award

€ Carolyn Young of Ithaca, the Farney R. Wurlitzer Award

€ Kristen B. Moysich of Seelze, Germany, and Jain Zhang of Shanghai, China, the Dean's Award for Outstanding Dissertation Research

€ Sam Jayanth Samuel, M.D., the Ernest Witebsky Award