Bruckenstein to Receive Faraday Medal

Release Date: August 19, 1994 This content is archived.


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Stanley Bruckenstein, Ph.D., A. Conger Goodyear professor of chemistry at the University of Buffalo, has been awarded the Faraday Medal by the Electrochemistry Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

The medal is given every two years to a distinguished electrochemist who is working outside the United Kingdom.

Bruckenstein will accept the award on Monday, Sept. 12, in Edinburgh, Scotland, where he will lecture on "Studies of Monolayer and Thicker Electrode Surface Films Using the Electrochemical Quartz Crystal Microbalance."

A member of the UB faculty since 1968, Bruckenstein served as the chair of the Department of Chemistry from 1974-83.

He has authored or co-authored 200 research articles for publication in scholarly journals. His research interests include electroanalytical chemistry, electrochemistry and chemical instrumentation.

He received the Charles N. Reilley Award of the Society for Electrochemistry in 1991 and a Heyrovsky Centennial Medal from the J. Heyrovsky Centennial Congress on Polarography held in Prague, Czechoslovakia, in 1990. He was elected a fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 1980.

Bruckenstein holds eight U.S. patents on electrochemical gas monitors and other apparatuses.

He received a bachelor's degree in chemistry from the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn and a doctoral degree in analytical chemistry from the University of Minnesota.

He resides in Amherst.

Media Contact Information

Ellen Goldbaum
News Content Manager
Tel: 716-645-4605