News and Announcements

Juliane Nguyen, assistant professor of pharmaceutical sciences, is principal investigator on a $1.58 million R01 grant to develop zip code-like biomaterials that are capable of interrupting pathological communication mediated by cancer cells.
Javier Blanco, Clin. Biochem., PhD, was promoted to Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences on July 1, 2017.
UB CIGBS International Fellow traveled to Washington D.C. to attend the ACTG Annual Meeting

Paras Prasad, SUNY Distinguished Professor and Executive Director of UB’s Institute for Lasers, Photonics and Biophotonics, has won the 2017 IEEE Nanotechnology Council Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology. The award was presented at the annual IEEE Conference on Nanotechnology in July in Pittsburgh, PA.

The University of Rochester and the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences (UB SPPS) have formed a new collaborative agreement that will provide students the opportunity to complete the University of Rochester Post-Baccalaureate Pre-Health Program and a UB Doctor of Pharmacy degree.
It is with great sadness we share the news of Dr. Gerhard Levy’s passing on August 3, 2017.
Senator Michael Ranzenhofer's Family Health Fair was held on Aug. 5 at the Amherst Senior Center. This annual free event provides healthcare services to the local senior community and is the largest health fair in Western New York.
Students from the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences will be taking part in medication therapy management (MTM) clinics set up by the Erie County Falls Prevention Coalition as part of a Falls Prevention Seminar Series. 
Justin Bui, '19, has been elected National Public Relations Liaison for the Student National Pharmaceutical Association (SNPhA).
Dr. Andrew Talal was interviewed on China Global Television Network whose broadcast can be seen in more than 85 million homes across more than 100 countries and territories.
Professor Gene Morse presents at the launch of a new textbook titled Pharmacognosy: Fundamentals, Applications and Strategy edited by two faculty from the University of the West Indies Mona Campus
Two faculty members at the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences have been selected to receive prestigious UB Exceptional Scholar Awards.
Robert Straubinger, professor, pharmaceutical sciences, has been named a University at Buffalo Distinguished Professor.

For four days, high school students from across the nation will get a glimpse of the pharmacy profession through the second annual University at Buffalo Pre-Pharmacy Summer Camp.

SUNY Distinguished Professor Gene Morse, ’80 & ’83, participated in a panel discussion on “A Healthy Caribbean” at Caribbean Action 2030.