Contingent / Adjunct / Independent Scholar / Two-Year Caucus (CAITY)

The CAITY Caucus advocates for NeMLA members who are contingent, adjunct, or independent scholars and/or teach at two-year institutions. The Caucus organizes panels, speakers, and discussions on topics including pedagogy, unionizing, and non-traditional career paths, offering travel and paper prizes in support of these endeavors. Everyone with interests in these areas is welcome!

CAITY Caucus Essay Award

NeMLA awards an annual prize for the best essay developed from a paper presented by contingent faculty, adjunct instructors, independent scholars, and two-year college faculty members at any of the convention’s sections.

The submission deadline for the annual CAITY Caucus Essay Award is December 15. The competition is limited to papers presented by CAITY members at a session during the NeMLA convention earlier in the year. Contingent faculty, adjunct instructors, independent scholars, and two-year college faculty are invited to send 20-25 page versions of their essay to with “NeMLA CAITY Essay Award Submission” in the subject.

Criteria for all Caucus Essay Awards

Submissions should be between 7,000 and 9,000 words, with a maximum of 10,000 words including notes and works cited. We cannot consider unrevised paper presentations. The author’s name, address, and academic affiliation should appear only on a separate cover sheet.

Each caucus prize offers a $100 cash award. Prize-winning essays will automatically be considered for publication by Modern Language Studies. All essays are subject to MLS’s double-blind review.

CAITY Caucus Travel Award

The NeMLA CAITY Travel Awards are open to contingent faculty, adjunct instructors, independent scholars, and two-year college faculty who have been accepted to present at the annual Convention.

The CAITY Travel Award Application Form is available during the month of December prior to the convention.


Nominations for leadership positions within our Caucus are accepted up to the annual CAITY Meeting/Reception, held at the annual NeMLA convention. The election itself also takes place at the Meeting/Reception. Officers include the following:


Oversees the caucus and is elected triennially. The President serves on the NeMLA board, and attends both fall and spring board meetings (the fall board meeting is typically held at the upcoming convention site). Other responsibilities include organizing convention CAITY events, and assisting with the CAITY Essay Award and Travel Awards.

Vice President

Assists the President with caucus business and is elected biennially. The Vice President organizes and chairs the Travel Grant Committee, manages caucus emails and surveys, and assists with the CAITY Essay Award. The Vice President is also in charge of outreach during the convention: planning for a CAITY presence at other Caucus events, and actively pursuing new membership and submissions for the travel and paper prizes.


Elected biennially. Ensures webpage stays up to date by working with NeMLA webmaster. Takes minutes during annual business meeting at conference. Oversees the CAITY Essay Award and assists with outreach during the conference and at other times.

Current Officers

Katelynn DeLuca

President and Board Representative

Emily Lauer

Past President

Maryann DiEdwardo

Vice President