Honored for service

Earlier this summer, Aaron Epstein (second from the left), a fourth-year UB surgical resident, was awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor for Service, considered the second-highest civilian award in the U.S. The organization cited “Epstein’s commitment to providing medical relief to communities in conflict zones, austere environments and disaster areas around the world.” On stage, Epstein was joined by (from left) medal recipients Leroy Petry (2011), Walter Joseph Marm Jr. (1966), James Taylor (1968) and Jim McCloughan (2017).

Published July 27, 2022