Campus News

Search for GSE dean under way


Published January 24, 2013


The search for a new dean for the Graduate School of Education is under way with the appointment of a search committee headed by Robert Shibley, dean of the School of Architecture and Planning.

The search is seeking a successor to Mary Gresham, who stepped down in July after 11 years in the post to take on a new role at UB as vice provost for educational collaboration and engagement.

 Jaekyung Lee, professor of counseling, school and educational psychology, and associate dean for academic affairs in the education school, has been serving as interim dean.

 In addition to Shibley, other members of the search committee appointed by Provost Charles Zukoski are Fenice Boyd, associate professor of learning and instruction, and associate dean for teacher preparation; Greg Dimitriadis, professor of educational leadership and policy; Catherine Dulmus, professor and associate dean for research, School of Social Work; Gregory Fabiano, associate professor of counseling, school, and educational psychology; Xiufeng Liu, professor of learning and instruction; David Mauricio, community superintendent, Office of School Performance, Buffalo Public Schools; Valerie Nesset, research assistant professor of library and information studies; Amanda Nickerson, associate professor of counseling, school and educational psychology; Michelle Russell, PhD student, Educational Leadership and Policy; and Lois Weis, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy.

 UB also has hired a consultant, Jon Derek Croteau, vice president and partner of the executive search firm Witt/Kieffer, to assist in the search. Croteau has worked with UB and other AAU institutions in recruiting candidates for senior academic and administrative positions.

 Zukoski says the search will proceed through the spring semester, with campus visits by finalists expected to take place late in the spring semester.

 He says he hopes to have a new dean in place before the start of the 2013-14 academic year.