INS FAC Member, Paschalis Alexandridis, Elected AAAS Fellow

Paschalis Alexandridis.

Published December 3, 2012

Three University at Buffalo professors have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.


The fellows, among 702 chosen by AAAS this year, were listed in Friday's edition of Science. They are:

-- Paschalis Alexandridis, PhD, UB Distinguished Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences.

-- Marilyn Morris, PhD, professor of pharmaceutical sciences, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

-- Surajit Sen, PhD, professor of physics, College of Arts and Sciences.

"We are very proud of the individual achievements of each of these outstanding faculty members. Professors Alexandridis, Morris and Sen truly represent the excellence of UB's faculty," UB Provost Charles Zukoski said. "We are tremendously proud of their accomplishments and congratulate them on this much-deserved national recognition."

AAAS elected Alexandridis "for fundamental discoveries on block copolymer thermodynamics, structure and dynamics, for development of functional products utilizing self-assembly methodologies, and for outstanding graduate student mentoring."

Morris was chosen for "distinguished contributions to the field of pharmaceutical sciences in the area of membrane transport and its influence on the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of drugs."

Sen received the distinction "for pioneering research on solitary waves and their collisions in granular media and for sustained outstanding service and leadership in international physics."

The fellows will be presented with a certificate and rosette pin at AAAS's annual meeting Feb. 16 in Boston.

Founded in 1848, AAAS is a nonprofit organization that includes 261 affiliated societies and academies of science. Its mission is to "advance science and serve society" through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education and more.

Additional information on UB's three newest fellows is below.

Paschalis Alexandridis

A chemical engineer specializing in soft materials and nanotechnology, Alexandridis has been a UB faculty member since 1997.

His research addresses interconnections between molecular interactions and supramolecular assemblies, and between structured assemblies and their properties and function. Ongoing projects focus on molecular self-assembly and colloidal directed assembly; structured ionic liquids for functional products; novel electrolytes for lithium batteries; polymer nanocomposites; nanoparticle synthesis; dissolution processing for effective biomass utilization; and dispersants for sea oil releases.

Alexandridis has co-authored more than 120 journal articles and 60 conference proceedings, edited two books and given more 130 lectures worldwide. He is co-inventor of 10 patents on pharmaceutical formulations, superabsorbent polymers, and metallic and semiconductor nanomaterials. His work has been cited roughly 7,500 times.

He received the SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activity (2011), American Chemical Society Jacob F. Schoellkopf Medal (2010), Bodossaki Foundation Academic Prize in Applied Science (2005), UB Exceptional Scholar Award (2002), Sigma Xi International Young Investigator Award (2002), Japan Research Institute of Material Technology Lecturer Award (2001) and National Science Foundation CAREER Award (1999).

His work has been funded by the National Science Foundation, National Institutes of Health, the National Institute of Standards and Technology, the Petroleum Research Fund, the Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative, Dow Chemical, Bausch & Lomb and Kao Corp.

Named an honorary adjunct professor at Beijing University of Chemical Technology in 2011, Alexandridis was also a guest researcher at the Tokyo University of Science and the Fritz-Haber Institute of the Max-Planck Society in Germany.

He served on journal editorial boards and proposal review panels, chaired several technical conferences and symposia and was elected chairperson of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) Area 1C: "Interfacial Phenomena" and an executive board member of the AIChE Nanoscale Science and Engineering Forum.

Alexandridis is the founding co-director of UB's materials science and engineering program and is the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences acting associate dean for research and graduate education. A former director of graduate studies in chemical engineering, he has mentored more than 45 undergraduate and 45 graduate students. He received the American Society for Engineering Education Dow Outstanding New Faculty Award (1999), the SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching (2006) and the UB Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring Award (2012).

Alexandridis graduated from National Technical University in Athens, Greece, and earned master's and doctoral degrees in chemical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He did postdoctoral research at Lund University, Sweden.