Academic Continuity, Retention and Completion

Committee Charge

The Academic Continuity, Retention and Completion Committee will develop plans for academic continuity in the event that the university continues remote learning and social distancing for Fall 2020. Key areas for consideration include:

  • Understanding the challenges and benefits of distance learning to be able to maintain the highest quality of education throughout the COVID-19 pandemic and beyond
  • Maintaining academic continuity, retention, and degree completion in undergraduate and graduate degree programs
  • Considering opportunities for flexibility and distance delivery, including the UB Curriculum and master’s programs
  • Providing academic support for students in remote and hybrid learning environments
  • Accommodating the unique needs of international students to the best of the university’s ability
  • Understanding issues and challenges related to classroom scheduling within protocols of social distancing
  • Responding to issues related to scholarships and other financial support
  • Maintaining real time assessment of student learning that enables responsiveness to student and instructor challenges in the remote learning environment

Committee Membership

  • Graham Hammill, Chair, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Graduate School
  • Amy Bisantz, Dean of Undergraduate Education
  • Randall Borst, Director, Accessibility Resources
  • Michael Cowen, Professor, Mathematics, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Kelly Duran, Assistant Chief Information Officer and Director of Strategic Portfolio Management, UBIT
  • Katherine Ferguson, Senior Associate Dean for Academic Initiatives and Special Programs, College of Arts and Sciences
  • James Jensen, Professor, Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • Kemper Lewis, Dean, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences      
  • Michael Montero, PhD Student, College of Arts and Sciences and Student Representative, UB Council
  • Valerie Nesset, Associate Professor, Information Science, Graduate School of Education
  • James O’Donnell, Dean, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Donald Reed, Senior Associate Athletic Director for Athletic and Academic Performance
  • Kara Saunders, University Registrar
  • Korydon Smith, Professor and Chair, Architecture, School of Architecture and Planning
  • Carol VanZile-Tamsen, Assistant Vice Provost for Educational Effectiveness
  • Jean Wactawski-Wende, Dean, School of Public Health and Health Professions
  • John Wood, Interim Vice Provost for International Education