Personal Safety Committee

On this page:

The Personal Safety Committee is a broad-based and continuing advisory group to review issues of personal safety.

Responsibilities of the Committee

  • Recommend further actions and programs that will raise the level of safety awareness among all members of the University community.
  • Identify ways to utilize academic programs for the enhancement of personal safety.
  • Review existing programs and suggest improvements in safety education, particularly for students taking evening courses, using campus services such as libraries and computing sites during off hours, and living in residence halls.
  • Review and identify potential sources of funding for future and current programs related to personal safety on campus.
  • Review and suggest improvements to campus preventative and judicial policies on sexual assault.
  • Conduct regular lighting tours of both campuses to maintain a safe environment for those on campus during evening hours.
  • Conduct regular meetings regarding the status of blue light phones on campus.
  • Monitor availability of counseling services for victims.
  • Continue on-going assessment of the quality of personal safety policies, practices, procedures, and programs by reviewing critical incidents.
  • Periodically conduct formal and informal survey of student and staff opinion.
  • Analyze crime statistics reported by University Police.

Current Members of the Committee

Mobile Users: Swipe to scroll table

Horizontal scroll at bottom of table

Name Affiliation Address   Phone Email
Chris Bartolomei
Acting Chief of Police, Ad-hoc Chair, P.S.C. 110 Bissell Hall 645-2230
Elizabeth Lidano Director, Judicial Affairs/ Student Advocacy 9 Norton Hall 645-6154
Sherri Darrow Director, Wellness Education Services 114 Student Union 645-2837
Ken Hood Facilities Space and Planning Safety Officer, University Libraries
228d Capen Hall
Aaron Maracle Staff Assistant, Wellness Education Services
303 Michael Hall 829-2205
Kathleen Murphy Manager, Network and Classroom Services
108 Computing Center  645-6700
Kesha Lanier Assistant Director of Affirmative Action, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion 406 Capen Hall 645-2266
Lynda Burey Administrative Staff Assistant, Environment, Health & Safety Services 250 Winspear Ave 829-3707
Renee Greene Staff Assistant, Parking & Transportation 106 Spaulding Quad 645-7329
Christopher Donacik Assistant Director, Building & Grounds
120a Beane Center 645-5279
Daniel Ryan Director, Off Campus Student Relations 101 Allen Hall 829-3536
John Kisker Senior Staff Assistant, Parking and Transportation 102 Spaulding Quad 645-3943
Chris Bragdon Assistant Director, Residence Life
119 Goodyear Hall
Cindy Konovitz Asst. Dean School of Pharmacy 160 Pharmacy Building 645-3002
Anna Sotelo-Peryea   Assistant Director, Wellness Education Services, Violence Prevention Team 306 Michael Hall 829-2893
Marla McBride Wellness Education Services 310 Michael Hall 645-6937
Trent Bero Director of Safety Services, SBI 341 Student Union 645-2954  
John Kisker Parking and Transportation 106 Spaulding Quad 645-2707

Violence Prevention Team Subcommittee

The Violence Prevention Committee, a subcommittee of the Personal Safety Committee, is a team of stakeholders from the greater University community committed to preventing violence on campus and helping individuals affected by acts of violence. The goal of the Violence Prevention Committee is to create a campus culture that promotes healthy gender-equitable relationships and eliminates violence by establishing interdisciplinary collaboration across UB and with the surrounding communities.

Web Page Feedback

Notice a Technical Problem With This Web Page?

We'd like to respond to you.