Mentor Pool for the T32-Initiative for Maximizing Student Development (IMSD) at the University at Buffalo

 

Each PhD IMSD Scholar will complete their thesis research under the direction of a primary faculty mentor in the following schools with primary faculty appointment in the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Science (Jacobs School), School of Dental Medicine (SDM), School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Science (SPPS), School of Public Health and Health Professions (SPHHP), School of Nursing (SON), College of Arts and Sciences CAS), School of Engineering and Applied Science (SEAS), and Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center (RPCCC).

Biophysics, Biomedical Technology, and Computational Biosciences

Andrew M. Gulick, PhD

Professor

Structural Biology

Research Focus: Structural Biology of Enzymes

Email: amgulick@buffalo.edu

Fernando Estrada, PhD

Assistant Professor

Biochemistry

Research Focus: Protein Function and Structure

Email: dfestrad@buffalo.edu

Michael Malkowski, PhD

Professor and Chair

Structural Biology

Research Focus: Structure-Function of Enzymes

Email: mgm22@buffalo.edu

Scott T. Doyle, PhD

Assistant Professor

Pathology and Anatomical Sciences

Research Focus: Bioinformatics; Biomedical Image Analysis

Email: scottdoy@buffalo.edu

Thomas D. Grant, PhD

Assistant Professor

Structural Biology

Research Focus: X-ray Crystallography; X-ray Scattering

Email: tdgrant@buffalo.edu

Genetics, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology

Chelsie E. Armbruster, PhD

Assistant Professor

Microbiology and Immunology

Research Focus: Bacterial pathogenesis

Email: chelsiea@buffalo.edu

David Goodrich, PhD

Distinguished Professor Of Oncology

Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Research Focus: Tumor suppressor gene function

Email: David.Goodrich@RoswellPark.org

Elizabeth Repasky, PhD

Distinguished Member and Professor of Oncology; The Dr. William Huebsch Professor in Immunology; Vice Chair, Department of Immunology; Co-Leader, Cell Stress and Biophysical Therapies Program

Immunology

Research Focus: Immune response; Immunosuppression

Jason Kay, PhD

Associate Professor

Oral Biology

Research Focus: Immunology; Cell Biology

Email: jasonkay@buffalo.edu

Jessica L. Reynolds, PhD

Associate Professor

Medicine

Research Focus: Innate Immune System; Infectious Disease

Email: jlr8@buffalo.edu

Jessy J. Alexander, PhD

Research Professor

Medicine

Research Focus: Immunology; Neurobiology

Email: jessyale@buffalo.edu

Jill Kramer, PhD

Associate Professor

Oral Biology

Research Focus: Immune dysfunction; Salivary Gland Disease

Email: jkramer@buffalo.edu

Keith L. Kirkwood, PhD

Professor

Oral Biology

Research Focus: Oral Inflammation; Oral Diseases and Cancer

Email: klkirk@buffalo.edu

Mark D. Parker, PhD

Associate Professor

Physiology and Biophysics

Research Focus: Epithelial Ion and Fluid Transport

Email: parker28@buffalo.edu

Michelle Visser, PhD

Associate Professor

Oral Biology

Research Focus: Microbiology, Oral Biology

Email: mbvisser@buffalo.edu

Sarah X. Zhang, PhD

Professor

Ophthalmology

Research Focus: Retinal Neurodegeneration; Retinal Diseases

Email: xzhang38@buffalo.edu

Satrajit Sinha, PhD

Professor

Biochemistry

Research Focus: Cell Fate Decisions: Development and Cancer

Email: ssinha2@buffalo.edu

Stefan Ruhl, PhD

Professor

Oral Biology

Research Focus: Salivary Proteins; Glycobiology

Email: shruhl@buffalo.edu

Timothy F. Murphy, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Senior Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Research; Director, Clinical and Translational Science Institute; Director, Community Health Equity Research Institute

Medicine

Research Focus: Microbial Genomics; Vaccine Development

Email: murphyt@buffalo.edu

Stelios Andreadis, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Director - Cell, Gene and Tissue Engineering Center

Chemical and Biological Engineering

Research Focus: Stem Cells

Email: sandread@buffalo.edu

Pharmacology, Physiology and Biological Chemistry

Arin Bhattacharjee, PhD

Associate Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology

Research Focus: Pain; Ion Channels; Pharmacology

Email: ab68@buffalo.edu

Barbara R. Alevriadou, PhD

Empire Innovation Professor

Biomedical Engineering

Research Focus: Cardiopulmonary physiology; Cardiovascular Disease; Metabolism; Molecular and Cellular Biology; Molecular Basis of Disease; Research Lab; Signal Transduction; Vascular Medicine

Email: alevri@buffalo.edu

James O'Donnell, PhD

Dean Emeritus

Pharmaceutical Sciences

Research Focus: Neurochemical Effects of Drugs

Email: jod@buffalo.edu

Janet Morrow, PhD

UB Distinguished Professor

Chemistry

Research Focus: Biomedical Imaging Agents

Email: jmorrow@buffalo.edu

Jonathan F. Lovell, PhD

SUNY Empire Innovation Associate Professor

Biomedical Engineering

Research Focus: Drug and Vaccine Delivery

Email: jflovell@buffalo.edu

Joseph P. Balthasar, PhD

David and Jane Chu Endowed Chair in Drug Discovery and Development, Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Director of the Center for Protein Therapeutics, Executive Director of University Research Initiatives

Pharmaceutical Sciences

Research Focus: Pharmacokinetics; Pharmacodynamics

Email: jb@buffalo.edu

Jun-Xu Li, MD PhD

Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology

Research Focus: Behavioral Pharmacology

Email: junxuli@buffalo.edu

Luis Velarde, PhD

Associate Professor

Chemistry

Research Focus: Ultrafast spectroscopy; Interfacial processes

Email: lvelarde@buffalo.edu

Sherry R. Chemler, PhD

Professor

Chemistry

Research Focus: Organic synthesis; Medicinal chemistry

Email: schemler@buffalo.edu

Behavioral Sciences

Anne-Marie Torregrossa

Associate Professor

Psychology

Research Focus: Taste and Food Choice

Email: amtorreg@buffalo.edu

Craig Colder, PhD

Professor; Director of Graduate Studies

Psychology

Research Focus: Adolescent substance use; Psychopathology

Email: ccolder@buffalo.edu

Grace Dean, PhD, RN

Professor

School of Nursing

Research Focus: Quality of Life; Symptom Management

Email: gdean@buffalo.edu

Gregory Homish, PhD

Professor and Chair

Community Health and Health Behavior

Research Focus: Substance use and misuse; social network influences on changes in substance use; impact of substance use on family functioning and health; emergency preparedness, preparation, coordination and training of rural disaster response teams; and mitigation of the impact of disaster response on the health of first responders.

Email: ghomish@buffalo.edu

Jean Wactawski-Wende, PhD

Dean; SUNY Distinguished Professor; Professor

Epidemiology and Environmental Health

Research Focus: Women’s health

Email: jww@buffalo.edu

Jennifer Read

Professor; Chair

Psychology

Research Focus: Alcohol misuse; PTSD-alcohol use comorbidity

Email: jpread@buffalo.edu

Lucia A. Leone, PhD

Associate Professor

Community Health and Health Behavior

Research Focus: Food Access; Healthy Diet

Email: lucialeo@buffalo.edu

Paul Meyer

Associate Professor; Behavioral Neuroscience Area Head

Psychology

Research Focus: Behavioral Neuroscience

Email: pmeyer@buffalo.edu

Stephanie Anzman-Frasca, PhD

Associate Professor

Pediatrics

Research Focus: Child development; Eating Behavior

Email: safrasca@buffalo.edu