Affiliated UB Faculty

The Institute for Genomic Literacy’s Faculty Champions meet regularly to manage the mission of creating and developing opportunities for genomic learning at all educational levels. Contact any of these faculty to learn more about their role in the Institute, or to get involved in your department’s genomic literacy efforts.

Jennifer Surtees, PhD

Associate Professor

Department of Biochemistry

Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

Email: jsurtees@buffalo.edu

Javier Blanco, PhD

Professor

Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Email: jgblanco@buffalo.edu

Irus Braverman, SJD

Professor; William J. Magavern Faculty Scholar

School of Law

Email: irusb@buffalo.edu

Myles Faith, PhD

Professor 10 Months, Department Chair

Department of Counseling, School and Educational Psychology

Graduate School of Education

Email: mfaith@buffalo.edu

Julie Gorlewski, PhD

Department Chair

Department of Learning and Instruction

Graduate School of Education

Email: jgorlews@buffalo.edu

Carolyn Farrell, PhD, MS, WHNP-BC, CGC.

Carolyn Farrell, PhD, MS, WHNP-BC, CGC

Adjunct Instructor, School of Nursing; President and Founder, Professional Genetic Interactions

School of Nursing

Email: farrell@buffalo.edu

Gerald Koudelka, PhD

Professor, SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching

Department of Biological Sciences

College of Arts and Sciences

Email: koudelka@buffalo.edu

Heather Ochs-Balcom, PhD

Associate Professor

Department of Epidemiology and Environmental Health

School of Public Health and Health Professions

Email: hmochs2@buffalo.edu