University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
UB 2020

University at Buffalo's strategic plan

UB 2020 Planning Archives

Phase I: Academic Planning Committee


The Academic Planning Committee is charged with creating a process for integrating programmatic planning activities conducted at decanal and school levels.

The Academic Planning Committee is charged with examining and integrating Academic organizational structures and support systems

  • Graduate education
  • Undergraduate education
  • Centers
  • Etc.

Guiding Principles

Sustained and integrated engagement of the faculty.

Primary charge is to:

  • Develop and refine the Strategic Strengths
  • Create plans to make the Strategic Strengths actionable

Plans will result in the following:

  • Clear definition and scope of each Strategic Strength
    • An articulation of the competitive advantage that UB can gain by successfully developing the Strategic Strength
  • Articulated set of goals and objectives for each Strategic Strength
  • A strategy for realizing those goals
  • A timeline for achieving those goals
  • A plan to operationalize the Strategic Strengths including;
    • Required organizational support
    • Required funding support
    • Actions required at the decanal and school level to support the development of the Strategic Strength
  • An assessment of the current capabilities for achieving the Strategic Strength and an identification of existing capability gaps

Academic Planning Committee Membership

Satish K. Tripathi, Provost - Chair

Kenneth M. Blumenthal, Professor and Chair, Department of Biochemistry

Josephine A. Capuana, Administrative Director, University Honors Program

Diane R. Christian, Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of English

Kee H. Chung, M&T Bank Chair in Banking and Finance, Department of Finance and Managerial Economics

Huw M. Davies, UB Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry

Robert J. Genco, Interim Vice President of Research

Robert Granfield, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology

Mark H. Karwan, Dean, School of Engineering and Applied Science

R. Nils Olsen, Jr., Dean and Professor, Law School

Margaret W. Paroski, Interim Vice President for Health Affairs and Interim Dean, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences