Get to Know Our Scholars

Esther Buckwalter.

Esther Buckwalter, 2012 Morris K. Udall Scholarship recipient.

UB is the proud home of several prestigious award recipients like Madelaine Britt, UB's first Truman Scholar. Take a look though our scholars gallery, where we highlight some of UB's other award recipients and scholarship applicants.

Fulbright Goldwater NSF GRFP Presidential Schomburg Other

Benjamin and David Scharps Legal Essay

Joseph Wolf

Joseph Wolf, recipient of the Benjamin and David Scharps Legal Essay, had his sights on law school.

Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress

Gunnar Haberl

Legal studies and political science dual major, Gunnar Haberl, represented UB at the Center for Study of the Presidency and Congress.

Critical Language Scholarship

Conor McMahon

Conor McMahon, a 2019 UB Graduate spent summer 2019 studying Mandarin in Taiwan on a Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) and is currently pursuing a PhD in philosophy at the University of Oklahoma.

Jill Ricotta

It took just a few weeks at UB for Jill Ricotta to discover that her true passion lay halfway around the world.

Simon, Wolfson-Seely

Two UB undergraduates—Jenny Simon and Ethan Wolfson-Seely—have received prestigious scholarships from the Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program for the summer of 2018. Both students are part of UB’s growing Asian languages programs.

Jenny Simon

Jenny Simon

Jenny Simon received a Critical Language Scholarship in 2018 and has applied for a Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship in Mongolia to pursue her dreams of learning more about China and becoming a teacher

David L. Boren Scholarship

Sarah Boerschig

Sarah Boerschig, a history and Asian studies major and University Honors College scholar, is the first UB student to receive the 2012 David L. Boren Scholarship from the National Security Education Program.

Delaj, Stafford

Alisa Delaj of Yonkers, a mechanical engineering major who will study at Korea University in a year-long program, and Carmila Stafford of Orchard Park, a linguistics major with a concentration in Japanese who will study at Konan University in Japan on a year-long exchange program, have been selected to receive the prestigious Boren Award.

Fulbright, Boren—2017

The University at Buffalo’s aspiration to become a “top-producing Fulbright institution” took another significant step forward when a record number of undergraduates were chosen as recipients of Fulbright awards.

Kayleigh Hamernik

Kayleigh Hamernik

Kayleigh Hamernik an environmental studies major, also minors in Asian studies. She will study Hindi at the American Institute of Indian Studies in Jaipur, Rajasthan. While there, her course study will focus on conversation, vocabulary, grammar and reading. She also will take part in such cultural activities as cooking, dance, photography and drama class.

Dalanda Jalloh

Dalanda Jalloh—a child of African immigrants whose years of homelessness strengthened her resolve to succeed—will spend part of her senior year in Senegal studying the language and working as an intern with a local organization related to her chosen area of study.

Casey Rothberg

Casey Rothberg was only the second UB student ever to receive the competitive David L. Boren Scholarship.

Drs. Henry J. and Bonita R. Durand Scholarship

Isnino Iftin

Isnino Iftin is currently pursuing her PhD in educational culture, policy and society (ECPS) at UB, and was just awarded the Drs. Henry J. and Bonita R. Durand Scholarship (Durand Scholarship). Yet, one of the most incredible aspects of her educational journey is how it started.

Charice Thompson

Charice Thompson, local entrepreneur and nontraditional student driven to be a role model for her two young children is the inaugural winner of the Drs. Henry J. and Bonita R. Durand Scholarship, an award given to a student facing financial obstacles standing in the way of a graduate degree.

Harry S. Truman Scholarship

Madelaine Britt

Madelaine Britt learned she has become UB's first Truman Scholar during a surprise meeting with President Satish K. Tripathi.

Christine Tjahjadi-Lopez

At 26, UB alumna Christine Tjahjadi-Lopez, a global entrepreneur, human rights activist, teacher and philanthropist, was already changing the world.

Marshall Scholarship

Sean Kaczmarek

Sean Kaczmarek was selected for a Marshall Scholarship, an honor many consider the country’s most prestigious scholarship.

Phillip Maffettone (Tucciarone)

Phillip Maffettone (Tucciarone), a chemical and biological engineering major, is the first UB student to receive the Marshall Scholarship since 1988.

Morris K. Udall Scholarship

Esther Buckwalter

Esther Buckwalter—recipient of the nationally coveted Morris K. Udall Scholarship—has all the tools to solve a significant piece of the global water crisis. The extra bonus Buckwalter brings is her ability to charm those around her while doing it.

Christopher Llop

A passion for the environment drives Udall Scholar Chris Llop.

U.S.-U.K. Summer Fulbright Institutes

Jonathan bessette

U.S.-U.K. Fulbright recipient Jonathan Bessette, combines his love of engineering and art, in his education.

Dylan Burns

The United States-United Kingdom Fulbright Commission has selected Dylan Burns, an architect major, to participate in its Fulbright Summer Institute to study at Nottingham Trent University.

Anna Porter

A UB anthropology major took her passion for the “connections through time” to Durham University in Great Britain.

Other Award Recipients

Kristina Monakhova

Kristina Monakhova, an electrical engineering major, was awarded the John R. Sevier Memorial Scholarship Award, which annually recognizes two students nationwide who are interested in a science or engineering career, with an emphasis on space research or space science education.

Gabriella Nassif

Nassif has received a $20,000 Dissertation Fellowship from the American Association of University Women to complete her PhD research.

Carol Ramos-Genera

Carol Ramos-Genera has been selected from among 40 scholars nationally for the Health Policy Research Scholars (HPRS) fellowship from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF).

Izzy Starr

Izzy Starr, a UB PhD student who uses computing to study how microbes living on human skin impact immunity, has received a prestigious fellowship from Microsoft Research.