This article is from the archives of the UB Reporter.


Published: December 9, 2004

Studio for Architecture, the award-winning Buffalo architectural firm of Mehrdad Hadighi, associate professor of architecture, and Shadi Nazarian, clinical associate professor of architecture, both in the School of Architecture and Planning, was named one of the "25 most intriguing, innovative and intrepid architecture firms, from all over the world" by Wallpaper magazine in its Annual Design Directory issue.Venu Govindaraju, professor of computer science and engineering, and director of the Center for Unified Biometrics and Sensors (CUBS), School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, is one of 15 Indian scientists and engineers in the U.S. chosen by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Indian Business Club to receive a Global Indus Technovators Award. The Global Indus Technovators Awards were instituted last year to recognize distinguished innovators of Indian origin.

Jude Fabiano, associate professor, Department of Restorative Dentistry, and director of the Advanced Education in General Dentistry Program; Maureen Donley, clinical associate professor, Department of Restorative Dentistry; and Sebastian G. Ciancio, SUNY Distinguished Service Professor and chair, Department of Periodontics and Endodontics, School of Dental Medicine, have received a Patriot Award from the National Committee for Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve, a unit of the Department of Defense, for their efforts in improving the dental health of members of the 402nd Civil Affairs Battalion prior to their deployment to Iraq.

Jamson S. Lwebuga-Mukasa, associate professor, Department of Medicine, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, will receive the Sister/Brother Healthcare Award from the Western New York Region of the National Conference for Community and Justice. The award recognizes exemplary service to the cause of promoting brotherhood and sisterhood in the local community. He will receive the award at a ceremony on Jan. 25.

Isaac Ehrlich, UB Distinguished Professor and chair, Department of Economics, College of Arts and Sciences, has been appointed to serve on the editorial board of the SUNY Press for a three-year term, effective Sept. 15, 2004, through June 30, 2007. Ernest Sternberg, professor, Department of Urban and Regional Planning, School of Architecture and Planning, has been reappointed to the board, also effective through June 30, 2007. SUNY Press publishes scholarly books and journals in support of the State University's commitment to teaching, research and public service.

Eddie L. Hoover, professor, Department of Surgery, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, has been named editor-in-chief of the Journal of the National Medical Association. The journal covers all areas of medicine but specializes in minority health.

The Buffalo Fine Arts Academy, governing organization of the Albright-Knox Art Gallery, has named President John B. Simpson and L.N. Hopkins III, professor and chair, Department of Neurosurgery, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, to the board of directors.

Faculty members Edmund A. Egan, professor of physiology and pediatrics, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences; Bruce Holm, senior vice provost and executive director, New York State Center of Excellence in Bioinformatics and Life Sciences; and Claes E.G. Lundgren, professor of physiology in the medical school, were honored recently during the 2004 Western New York Pioneers of Science Awards dinner. Egan and Holm were honored for development of the drug Infasurf-Neonatal, which has helped reduce the mortality rate among premature newborns. Lundgren, who holds more than 100 patents, was recognized for his career's work, which focuses on diving physiology, breathing with underwater equipment and the design and development of underwater breathing devices.

Russell J. Nisengard, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of Periodontics and Endodontics, and associate dean, School of Dental Medicine, has been named a trustee of the American Academy of Periodontology.

"Delphi Supplier Lean Training Consortium," a project of the Center for Industrial Effectiveness (TCIE), received an "Outstanding Project of the Year Award" from the University Economic Development Association at the group's annual conference in Orlando last month. The consortium was formed by Delphi, a producer of automotive-heating and air-conditioning components in Lockport, in collaboration with TCIE and Empire State Development Corp. to deliver comprehensive training to regional suppliers.