Archives: IT Transformation Completed Projects

Student Systems Assessment


April 11, 2008

We have changed the title of our project to Student Services Transformation to signal a new phase in this UB2020 initiative: the implementation of PeopleSoft's student information system, Campus Solutions.


In today's university environment, students expect that the administrative aspects of their living and learning experience will be seamless, simple, and easy to navigate. Faculty and staff have similar expectations for their work in providing student services. Unfortunately, the administrative offices and functions that support students at UB are all-too-often disconnected, duplicative, and difficult to navigate. In an effort to meet and exceed the expectations of today's and tomorrow's students, faculty and staff, UB has initiated the Student Systems Transformation project to evaluate the multiple components of our current student system and to explore ways to improve and integrate them. The goal of this project is to fundamentally transform the ways that faculty and staff deliver, and students access the tools and services that support their university lives.

Project Membership

Executive Steering Committee Membership

  • Beau Willis, Chair and Executive Sponsor, Chief of Staff and Interim Executive Vice President for Finance and Operations
  • Satish Tripathi, Executive Sponsor, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Michael Ryan, Project Sponsor, Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education
  • Elias Eldayrie, Project Sponsor, Associate Vice President for Information Technology
  • Dennis Black, Vice President for Student Affairs
  • David Dunn, Vice President for Health Sciences
  • John T. Ho, Acting Dean of the Graduate School
  • R. Nils Olsen, Dean, Law School

Project Team Membership

  • Kara Saunders, UB Project Manager, Assistant Vice Provost of Undergraduate Education
  • Paul Giebel, Moran Technology Consulting Project Manager
  • Sue Huston, Technical Lead, Director of Administrative Computing Services
  • Kellie Kostek, Functional Co-Lead, Director of Student Financial Processing
  • Cheryl Taplin, Functional Co-Lead, Interim Director Student Academic Records and Financial Services, Director Student Advising Services
  • Pat Armstrong, Director, Undergraduate Admissions
  • Sandra Flash, Executive Director of Academic and Student Affairs
  • Jeffrey Dutton, Director, Institutional Analysis
  • Bill Baumer, Faculty Senate Representative
  • Robinette Kelley, Assistant Director of Employee Relations
  • John Grabowski, Assistant Vice President for Procurement Services
  • Jennifer Hess, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Mark Molnar, Assistant Vice President, Academic Planning and Budget
  • Barbara Ricotta, Dean of Students
  • Charles Severin, Interim Associate Dean for Medical Education, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
  • Steven Shaw, Director, International Admissions
  • Mick Thompson, Associate Provost and Executive Director, Graduate School
  • Lillie Wiley-Upshaw, Associate Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid, Law School