Open files from a program or Internet Explorer. Save your
files and close your session.
While you are connected to My Virtual Computing Lab you may work
with any files stored in your UBfs Myfiles space (S: drive) or on
any connected drive. However, because you are connected to a
"virtual machine," the locations of your drives will look different
These instructions assume you are already connected to My Virtual Computing Lab, and that you checked
the box next to Drives.
There are two ways to leave My Virtual Computing Lab:
- Disconnecting from the remote machine means that you
close your remote desktop client application, but remain logged in.
If you reconnect immediately after you disconnect, you will find
that your "session" has been saved: any programs you had open will
remain open. This session will only be saved for 24 hours, after
which time all program states and unsaved work will be lost.
- Click the red x in the Remote Desktop window in the
upper left, or the x in the Connection Bar at the top of the
- A window appears warning you that you are disconnecting. Click
- Logging Off from the remote machine is similar to
logging off your personal computer. All programs are closed, and
unsaved work will be lost.
- Click the Windows Start button at the bottom of the
window and select Log off.
- You are prompted to save any unsaved work.
- The window closes.