University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Keeping Your UBmail Powered by Google After Graduating

On this page:

Keeping Your UBmail Active

Using UBmail on your phone with an app won't keep your UBmail active. Log into https://ubmail.buffalo.edu instead.

Log in at least once every 90 days using a browser at https://ubmail.buffalo.edu. Using an email app doesn't count as logging in.

If you don't log in:

  • After 60 days you will be sent a reminder in email to log in within the next 30 days.
  • 2 weeks later  you will be sent another reminder.
  • After 90 days, your UBmail Powered by Google deactivates. 

If you forward your UBmail Powered by Google to another email, you still must log into your UBmail Powered by Google account at least once every 90 days.

Reactivating Your UBmail

If your UBmail deactivated, opt-in to reactivate your UBmail.

Deactivating Your UBmail

If you don't want to keep your UBmail, either don't log in for 90 days or else Opt-out. Choose Opt-out from Opt to keep address * field from the Opt-In Now section.  

Common Questions

I graduated before 1998 and never had a UBITName. Can I use UBmail?

No, but you can sign up for UB Connect, a permanent email forwarding service offered by the Alumni Association.

I set a forward on my email, but my account is no longer active. Can I change the forward?

Once your account deactivates, it cannot be reactivated for reasons such as changing an email forward. Alumni and retirees may keep their email active as long as they log in at least once every 90 days.

See also

Contact the UBIT Help Center

Have a UBITName? You may also use the UBIT Help Center Online (login required).

(Required)
 
 
(xxx) xxx-xxxx
(Required)
Use your @buffalo.edu email, if known
 
(Required)