Paras N. Prasad

Paras Prasad.

Paras N. Prasad is a SUNY Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Physics, Medicine and Electrical Engineering. He also holds the Samuel P. Capen Chair at UB and is executive director of the multidisciplinary Institute for Lasers, Photonics and Biophotonics.

Paras Prasad has published more than 700 scientific papers and co-edited six books, including the first monograph, which authoritatively defines the field, details its scope and identifies emerging opportunities. He holds a number of patents.

Prasad has received much recognition for his pioneering contributions, including: Scientific American’s Top 50 (2005), Fellow of SPIE (2005), 2003 & 2008 Inventor of the Year in Life Sciences Award by the Technical Council of the Niagara Frontier (2004,2009). He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the Optical Society of America. He is also a recipient of the prestigious Sloan and Guggenheim fellowships.

Prasad has received the Schoellkopf Award from the Western New York American Chemical Society for his academic achievements and the Technology/Discovery award from the Western New York Health Care Industries Association for his pioneering work on “Nanoclinics” for Biophotonics. He has received a SUNY Excellence in Pursuit of Knowledge award, the Morley Prize from the Cleveland section of the American Chemical Society and the first UB Innovation Impact Award.

He has received several honorary professorships and doctorates for his pioneering work in photonics, nanophotonics and biophotonics, and for advancing a global infrastructure in science and technology. Recently the Royal Institute of Technology in Sweden (KTH) recognized him for his innovative work in areas including the use of light-based technologies to address important, global health problems.

Prasad also has been a leader in promoting international scientific infrastructures, organizing six “International Conferences on Frontiers of Polymers and Advanced Materials." Each of these conferences brought together top level scientists, engineers and government representatives from more than 20 countries to develop a global infrastructure for advanced materials and emerging technologies.