Experts by Field: Engineering

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact UB's media relations team at 716-645-6969 or ub-news@buffalo.edu.

2/14/17

Joseph Atkinson

Director of the Great Lakes Program

Expertise: Great Lakes water levels, flooding and water pollution

Phone: 716-645-2220

Email: atkinson@buffalo.edu

7/2/18

Javid Bayandor

Associate Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: Mid-air collisions; crashes involving drones (unmanned aircraft systems); space exploration and missions; crashworthiness; ballistics; advanced aerospace design

Phone: 716-645-1422

Email: bayandor@buffalo.edu

9/13/17

Sara Behdad

Assistant Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering, and Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: electronic waste, sustainable design, right to repair  

Phone: 716-645-2593; 716-645-2328

Email: sarabehd@buffalo.edu

5/23/18

Matthew Bolton

Assistant Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Expertise: medical alarm masking

Phone: 716-645-8405

Email: mbolton@buffalo.edu

9/19/18

Lora Cavuoto

Associate Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Expertise: ergonomics, occupational safety and health, fatigue monitoring, worker quality of life

Phone: 716-645-4696

Email: loracavu@buffalo.edu

6/19/18

John L. Crassidis

Samuel P. Capen Professor

Expertise: space debris, space junk

Phone: 716-645-1426

Email: johnc@buffalo.edu

5/1/17

Ning Dai

Assistant Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental

Expertise: wastewater recycling for potable use, disinfection byproducts

Phone: 716-645-4015

Email: ningdai@buffalo.edu

4/20/18

Liesl Folks

Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Expertise: STEM education, especially concerning women and underrepresented minorities; nanotechnology; magnetism

Phone: 716-645-2771

Email: lfolks@buffalo.edu

2/14/17

Amit Goyal

Director of UB RENEW Institute

Expertise: renewable energy; environmental and water issues; high-temperature superconductivity; materials science

Phone: 716-645-5920

Email: agoyal@buffalo.edu

12/21/16

John F. Hall

Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: Wind energy; design, analysis and optimization of wind farms

Phone: 716-645-5946

Email: johnhall@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

James N. Jensen

Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

Expertise: public water systems, drinking-water treatment, wastewater treatment

Phone: 716-645-4007

Email: jjensen@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Josep Jornet

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering

Expertise: terahertz-band communication networks, Internet of Nano-Things, brain-computer interfaces

Phone: 716-645-1607

Email: jmjornet@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Mark H. Karwan

Praxair Professor of Operations Research

Expertise: sports scheduling, especially in the NFL

Phone: 716-645-2422

Email: mkarwan@buffalo.edu

5/8/18

Tevfik Kosar

Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: big data, cloud computing, distributed systems, high-performance computing, green computing, energy-efficient systems

Phone: 716-645-2323

Email: tkosar@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Kemper E. Lewis

Professor and Chair of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: advanced manufacturing, mass customization, engineering design

Phone: 716-645-2682

Email: kelewis@buffalo.edu

10/30/17

Ciprian N. Ionita

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Expertise: 3-D medical imaging, 3-D printing in medicine, neuroimaging, cardiovascular imaging, endovascular disease

Phone: 716-829-5413

Email: cnionita@buffalo.edu

10/23/18

John D. Atkinson

Assistant Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

Expertise: sustainability, greenhouse gas emissions, air and water pollution control, materials science and engineering, adsorption, life-cycle assessment

Phone: 716-645-4001

Email: atkjdw@buffalo.edu

4/18/18

Chunming Qiao

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: Self-driving and connected cars, specifically the computing systems for these technologies

Phone: 716-645-4751

Email: qiao@computer.org

12/8/16

Alan Rabideau

Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

Expertise: pollution, groundwater contamination, radioactive and hazardous waste management, mathematical modeling

Phone: 716-645-4003

Email: rabideau@buffalo.edu

9/19/18

Bina Ramamurthy

Teaching Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: Blockchain technology; data-intensive computing; big data platforms, such as Hadoop and Spark

Phone: 716-645-3182

Email: bina@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Kenneth W. Regan

Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: cheating in chess

Phone: 716-645-4738

Email: regan@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Adel Sadek

Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

Expertise: traffic, applying information technology to crash risk, border-crossings, environmental effects, infrastructure and land-use design, traffic in bad weather

Phone: 716-645-4367

Email: asadek@buffalo.edu

9/19/17

Surajit Sen

Professor of Physics

Expertise: wave behavior, granular systems, quasi-equilibrium, nonequilibrium and chaotic phenomena, collisions, shock mitigation, sociophysics

Phone: 716-645-6151, 716-907-4961

Email: sen@buffalo.edu

8/21/18

Mark Swihart

UB Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering

Expertise: nanotechnology, materials science, chemistry of materials, aerosol science

Phone: 716-645-1181

Email: swihart@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Albert H. Titus

Professor and Chair of Biomedical Engineering

Expertise: biomedical engineering, wearable technology, biosensors, smart sensors

Phone: 716-645-1019

Email: ahtitus@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Shambhu Upadhyaya

Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: cybersecurity, hacking, encryption, cyberattacks, protecting infrastructure from cyber threats

Phone: 716-645-3183

Email: shambhu@buffalo.edu

5/10/18

Andrew Whittaker

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

Expertise: earthquake engineering, blast engineering, risk assessment of nuclear power plants

Phone: 716-645-4364

Email: awhittak@buffalo.edu

9/24/18

Hao Zeng

Professor of Physics

Expertise: magnetism, spintronics, nanomaterials, materials science, materials for solar energy harvesting

Phone: 716-645-5749

Email: haozeng@buffalo.edu