University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Equity & Inclusion Council

Members of E&I Council with Mayor Brown at the Buffalo Opportunity Pledge Signing

An Equity & Inclusion Council was formed to create a broad-based body university stakeholders (including faculty, students, staff, and alumni) who will work with the VPEI in groups, sub-committees and task forces to plan E&I strategies, identify gaps in existing policies, and transform the culture of E&I at UB.

Nominations for the Council and the Executive Council were solicited from deans and senior leadership. The Council was selected and charged by the Provost in December 2015.

UB Reporter E&I Council


Members of the Equity and Inclusion Advisory Council are:

  • Barbara Ricotta, associate vice president for student affairs.
  • Margaret Sallee, assistant professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy.
  • Margarita Dubocovich, chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, and senior associate dean for diversity and inclusion, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.
  • Raechele Pope, associate professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy.
  • Jose Aviles, associate vice provost and director of admissions.
  • John DellaContrada, associate vice president for media relations and stakeholder communications, University Communications.
  • Jeff Miecznikowski, associate dean for faculty affairs and diversity and associate professor, Department of Biostatistics, School of Public Health and Health Professions.
  • Andy Stott, dean of undergraduate education and director, Honors College.
  • Ellen Dussourd, assistant vice provost and director, Office of International Student and Scholar Services.
  • Kathy Twist, senior associate athletic director for sport administration.
  • Sharon Nolan-Weiss, director, Office of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion.
  • Mark Coldren, associate vice president for human resources.
  • Robert Granfield, vice provost for faculty affairs.
  • Connie Holoman, deputy to the president.
  • Jason Young, associate professor, Department of History.
  • Margaret Moss, associate professor and assistant dean for diversity and inclusion, School of Nursing.
  • Sharmistha Bagchi-Sen, chair and professor, Department of Geography.
  • George Cleary, UB alumnus