The Truman Scholarship

This award requires university nomination or interview and cannot be applied to directly. Students must work with the Office of Fellowships and Scholarships and meet university deadlines.


The Truman Scholarship seeks juniors with exceptional leadership potential who are committed to careers in government, the nonprofit or advocacy sectors, education or elsewhere in the public service. The scholarship supports graduate or professional study, leadership training and fellowship with other scholars who are committed to making a difference through public service.


  • Campus Deadline: Nov. 15
  • External Deadline: February 

Eligibility Requirements

  • U.S. citizen or a U.S. national from American Samoa or the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.
  • Must be a full-time student pursuing a bachelor's degree with junior-level academic standing or have senior-level standing in third year of college enrollment.
  • Commitment to a career in public service.
  • Strong record of leadership, public and community service.
  • Able to attend the Truman Scholars Leadership Week.

How to Apply

Selection Process

The Truman Scholarship is by nomination through the Office of Fellowships and Scholarships. A committee of UB staff and faculty will review applications to shortlist candidates for interviews, and select up to four campus nominees.  Campus nominees will work with advisors in preparation for the regional finals in March.

Past Award Recipients and Honorees







Field(s) of Study




Graduate School


2023 Samiha Islam Recipient Statistics and Health and Human Services Rochester, NY  
2020 Kay Kennedy Finalist Political Science Buffalo, NY  
2018 Michael Brown Finalist Political Science and Computer Science Buffalo, NY  
2016 Madelaine Britt Recipient Political Science and Environmental Design Rochester, NY  
2015 Sean Kaczmarek Finalist Economics and Political Science West Seneca, NY University College London
2013 Christine Tjahjadi-Lopez Finalist International Trade Getzville, NY University at Buffalo
2011 Kristina Blank Finalist Social Science Interdisciplinary Craryville, NY University of Washington
2009 Emily Bauer Finalist Biological Sciences Wayland, NY  Cornell University
2008 Aaron Krolikowski Finalist Political Science and Social Science Interdisciplinary Glenwood, NY University of Oxford
1992 Clayton Robertson Finalist   Schenectady, NY