Title VIII Research Scholar Program


The program provides full support for graduate students, faculty, and independent scholars seeking to conduct in-country, independent research for three consecutive months to nine consecutive months in Russia, Eurasia and Eastern Europe. Programs are available in*:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Estonia
  • Georgia
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kosovo
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Macedonia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Russia**
  • Serbia
  • Tajikistan
  • Ukraine

*Research scholar applicants may only apply for research in a total of two countries maximum.

**Due to visa regulations, research scholar recipients to Russia are required to participate in four hours per week of Russian language tutorials in addition to their academic consultation with a faculty advisor (one hour per week) at their host universities. Language tutorials will provide proficient speakers an opportunity to edit Russian articles for publication, to develop lexica for new areas of study, or to refine advanced speaking and writing skills.



Eligibility Requirements

  • Scholars in the social sciences and humanities are eligible.
  • Open to graduate students, faculty, PhD candidates, post-doctorate and independent scholars.
  • All research must contribute to a body of knowledge enabling the US to better understand the region and formulate effective policies within it.
  • Applicants must be US citizens.

How to Apply

Selection Process

All applications are reviewed by outside readers with expertise in the applicant's specific research field and region. Written comments from these evaluators, along with all application materials, are then reviewed by a final, independent selection committee of leading U.S. scholars.

Campus Liaison

Megan Stewart

Additional Resources

For more information Please contact the Title VIII Program Officer in the Outbound Programs Office at 202-833-7522; or by email: outbound@americancouncils.org.