Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress (CSPC) Presidential Fellows Program


Since 1970, Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress (CSPC) fellows have traveled to Washington, D.C. to learn about leadership and governance, to share their outstanding research and to explore careers in public service. While attending the conference, the fellows participate in workshops where they present and receive peer feedback on their research projects. The fellows also have the opportunity to engage with policy experts, government officials and leaders in the legislative process. 

The At-Large program allows students who do not attend a CSPC partner institution to participate in the Presidential Fellows program. CSPC particularly welcomes applications from members of minority groups historically underrepresented in this program and similar leadership development initiatives.


July 1, 2024

Eligibility Requirements

Applicants must:

  • Be a sophomore, junior, senior, or advanced degree student enrolled in any field of study for the entirety of the 2024-25 academic year. Students graduating in December 2024 are not eligible. 
  • Be a domestic or international student studying in the U.S.
  • Have a GPA of 3.0 or above.
  • Be available to attend all portions of the program. 
  • Have a demonstrated interested in an aspect of the American government and should be comfortable speaking, presenting, and writing specifically about the American presidency or Congress.

How to Apply

Past Award Recipients and Honorees







Field(s) of Study




2023 Astha Pandey Recipient Media Studies & Philosophy, Politics, and Economics Columbus, IN
2022 Samiha Islam Recipient Social Sciences Interdisciplinary Rochester, NY
2021 Alexis Harrell Recipient Psychology and Sociology Albany, NY
2020 Kay Kennedy Recipient Political Science Buffalo, NY
2019 Avery Sirwatka Recipient Sociology and Urban and Public Policy Studies Jamestown, NY
2018 David Tallents Recipient Mathematics-Economics and Political Science Fulton, NY
2017 Gunnar Haberl Recipient Social Science Interdisciplinary and Political Science Elma, NY
2016 Emily Sharp O'Connor Recipient Political Science Ithaca, NY
2015 Carly Gottorff Recipient Political Science Angola, NY