Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

This award requires university nomination or interview and cannot be applied to directly. Students must work with the Office of Fellowships and Scholarships and meet university deadlines.


The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship is awarded to sophomores and juniors who have outstanding potential and intend to pursue advanced degrees in mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering. Students who plan to study medicine are eligible only if they plan a research career rather than a career in private practice (MD).


Campus deadline: November 15

External deadline: January

Eligibility Requirements

Applicants must:

  • Be a U.S. citizen, national, or permanent resident with intent to become a citizen. 
  • Be a science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM) major.
  • Have a GPA of 3.0 or higher.
  • Be a sophomore or a junior.
  • Have plans to pursue a PhD in STEM.
  • Have research experience.

How to Apply

  • September: Application opens. Submit the online pre-application for approval. 
  • Nov. 1: Full online application must be completed. Three letters of recommendation and transcripts due to Megan Stewart in the Office of Fellowships and Scholarships.

Selection Process

Students who complete all application materials will be considered for nomination to the Goldwater Foundation. A faculty committee will select the four University at Buffalo nominees.

  • Dec. 1: Candidates notified if selected for one of UB’s four nomination slots.
  • Late January: University submits nominations.
  • Late March: Recipients announced.

Campus Contact

Past Award Recipients and Honorees







Field(s) of Study




Graduate School


2023 Sydney Swedick Recipient Biomedical Engineering Johnstown, NY  
2023 Lea Kyle Recipient Biochemistry Martville, NY  
2022 Paul Dewan Recipient Biological Sciences and Physics Liverpool, NY  
2022 Krish Patel Recipient Mathematics and Physics Buffalo, NY  
2022 Meghan Sullivan  Recipient Chemistry Fairport, NY  
2021 Anoop Kiran Recipient Aerospace Engineering Nanuet, NY  
2020 Cassondra Lyman Recipient Statistics and Psychology Endicott, NY  
2019 Dennis Fedorishin Recipient Computer Science East Amherst, NY  
2019 Hannah Seppala Recipient Physics and Mathematics Penn Yan, NY  
2017 Anne Fortman Recipient Physics Lancaster, NY Harvard University
2017 Walker Gosrich Recipient Mechanical Engineering Plattsburgh, NY University of Pennsylvania
2017 Andrew Stewart Honorable Mention Medicinal Chemistry Schenectady, NY Ichan School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
2016 Anna Smith Recipient Chemical Engineering Tampa, FL Carnegie Mellon University
2016 Armond June Honorable Mention Biological Sciences Buffalo, NY University at Buffalo
2015 Stephanie Kong Recipient Chemical Engineering and Spanish East Amherst, NY Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2015 Sharon Lin Recipient Chemical Engineering Schenectady, NY Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2015 Kristina Monakhova Recipient Electrical Engineering Liverpool, NY University of California, Berkeley
2015 Dante Iozzo Honorable Mention Physics and Mathematics Youngstown, NY Cornell University
2014 Sean Bearden Recipient Physics and Mathematics San Diego, CA University of California, San Diego
2014 Nigel Michki Recipient Computational Physics Grand Island, NY University of Michigan
2014 Stephanie Kong Honorable Mention Chemical Engineering East Amherst, NY Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2014 Kristina Monakhova Honorable Mention Electrical Engineering Liverpool, NY University of California, Berkley
2013 Christopher Dundas Recipient Chemical Engineering Red Bank, NJ University of Texas at Austin
2013 Phillip Maffettone (Tucciarone) Recipient Chemical Engineering Washingtonville, NY University of Oxford and University of Liverpool
2012 Daniel Salem Recipient Chemical Engineering Liverpool, NY Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2011 Maxwell Bileschi Recipient Computer Science Webster, NY  
2010 Jasmine May Recipient Medicinal Chemistry Sanborn, NY Northwestern University
2009 Claire Lochner Recipient Electrical Engineering Williamsville, NY University of California, Berkeley
2009 Anny Caceres Honorable Mention Pharmacology and Toxicology    
2008 Bradley Cheetham Recipient Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Cortland, NY University of Colorado Boulder
2008 Sabrina Peczonczyk Honorable Mention Chemistry Cheektowaga, NY University of Michigan
2008 Jacob Weiner Honorable Mention Mathematics and Chemical Engineering Manlius, NY  
2007 Andrew S. Paluch Recipient Mathematics and Chemical Engineering Tonawanda, NY  
2006 Rachael Brust Honorable Mention Biochemistry and Biophysics Webster, NY Harvard University
2006 Mark Huntington Honorable Mention Mechanical Engineering Holley, NY Northwestern University
2005 Danelle Schrader Recipient Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Lincoln, MA  
2004 Danelle Schrader Honorable Mention Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Lincoln, MA  
2002 Brooks Bohall Recipient Chemistry Bemus Point, NY  
2001 Joseph Mure Recipient      
2000 Anand Vaiyda Recipient Biophysics and Chemistry    
1999 Carnie Abajian Recipient Chemistry Clifton Park, NY  
1998 Mark Grimaldi Recipient Computer Science Varysburg, NY  
1998 Michael Tachett Recipient      
1998 Modi Wetzler Recipient Chemistry and English Getzville, NY University of California, Berkley
1997 Srinivas Raghu Recipient Chemistry and Physics East Amherst, NY  
1997 Cynthia Rudin Recipient Mathematical Physics and Music Williamsville, NY  
1996 Carl Miller Recipient Chemistry Rochester, NY  
1995 Soumya Raychauchuri Recipient Biophysics Rochester, NY Stanford University
1993 Michaeleen Pacholski Recipient Chemistry West Seneca, NY Pennsylvania State University
1993 Mary Salazar Recipient      
1993 Michael Sipior Recipient Physics West Seneca, NY  
1992 Jason Ensher Recipient      
1991 Matthew Bernhardt Recipient      
1991 Stephen Maricich Recipient