Harry S. Truman Scholarship

This award requires university nomination or interview and cannot be applied to directly. Students must work with the Office of Fellowships and Scholarships and meet university deadlines.


The Truman Scholarship seeks juniors with exceptional leadership potential who are committed to careers in government, the nonprofit or advocacy sectors, education or elsewhere in the public service. The scholarship supports graduate or professional study, leadership training and fellowship with other scholars who are committed to making a difference through public service.


  • Campus Deadline: Nov. 1
  • External Deadline: February 

Eligibility Requirements

  • Nomination by the University at Buffalo by the Office of Fellowships and Scholarships.
  • U.S. citizenship or a U.S. national from American Samoa or the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.
  • Must be a full-time student pursuing a bachelor's degree with junior-level academic standing or have senior-level standing in third year of college enrollment.
  • Minimum GPA of 3.6.
  • Commitment to a career in public service.
  • Strong record of leadership, public and community service.
  • Able to attend the Truman Scholars Leadership Week.
  • Must be available for an interview, if shortlisted.

How to Apply

Complete an online application on the  Harry S. Truman Scholarship website.

Selection Process

The Truman Scholarship is by nomination through the Office of Fellowships and Scholarships. A committee of UB staff and faculty will review applications to shortlist candidates for interviews, and select up to four campus nominees.  Campus nominees will work with advisors in preparation for the regional finals in March.

Campus Liaison

Elizabeth Colucci

Past Award Recipients at UB

Year Name Award
2020 Kay Kennedy Finalist
2018 Michael Brown Finalist
2016 Madelaine Britt Recipient
2015 Sean Kaczmarek Finalist
2013 Christine Tjahjadi-Lopez Finalist
2011 Kristina Blank Finalist
2009 Emily Bauer Finalist
2008 Aaron Krolikowski Finalist
1992 Clayton Robertson Finalist