The Meyerson Award

The President Emeritus and Mrs. Meyerson Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring (the Meyerson Award) was established through a generous gift by the late UB President Emeritus Martin Meyerson and his wife, Margy Ellen, to recognize exceptional teaching and mentoring at the university. It is the highest university award given specifically for undergraduate mentoring.

Congratulations to our 2018 winners!

- Michael Detty, chemistry

- Johannes Hachmann, chemical and biological engineering 

- Larry Hawk, psychology

Nomination Criteria

Faculty members who provide the guidance and support needed to help undergraduate students develop the skills necessary for research, creativity, critical thinking and innovation are eligible to be nominated for the award.

Like the Meyersons, we believe that the best undergraduate creative experiences are collaborative, encourage student autonomy and responsibility and create strong mentoring relationships with faculty.

How to Nominate a Faculty Member

Faculty may be nominated for the award by students, faculty colleagues, alumni and/or university administrators. Individuals selected for the award will be recognized during UB's annual Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence.

Nominations require one paragraph (500 word maximum) that explains in detail the positive impact the faculty mentor has made on student research, achievement and experiences. If you are a student nominator, discuss the positive impact working with this professor has made on your research, introduction into your field and if applicable, interest in furthering your education. If you are faculty/staff member, describe the ways in which this faculty member has embraced undergraduate student path to discovery, the imprint made on their students, contributions above and beyond typical faculty responsibilities and developed high quality research or creative opportunities for students.

Previous Winners


  • Dr. Martha Bohm, architecture
  • Dr. John Crassidis, mechanical and aerospace engineering 
  • Dr. Walter Hakala, English


  • Dr. Laura Anderson, nursing
  • Dr. Barbara Bono, English
  • Dr. Annette LeCuyer, architecture


  • Dr. Anna Mariella Bacigalupo, anthropology
  • Dr. Lance Rintamaki, communication
  • Dr. Mark Swihart, chemical and biological engineering


  • Dr. Beth Tauke, architecture
  • Dr. Stephen Free, biological sciences
  • Dr. Rajendram Rajnarayanan, pharmacology and toxicology


  • Dr. James Jensen, civil, structural and environmental engineering
  • Dr. Kemper Lewis, mechanical and aerospace engineering
  • Dr. Gail Willsky, biochemistry


  • Dr. Maria Horne, theatre and dance
  • Dr. Lynne Koscielniak, theatre and dance
  • Dr. Jennifer Zirnheld, electrical engineering
  • Dr. Satpal Singh, pharmacology and toxicology
  • Dr. Kate Rittenhouse-Olson, biotechnology
  • Dr. Jun Zhuang, industrial and systems engineering
  • Dr. John Ringland, mathematics